We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Remote yet convienent to town, Casa Carablanco was a true hidden gem with hosts that combine insider knowledge with homespun coo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Agua Vista

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Agua Vista to your Saves list
Agua Vista
1 mile from downtown Montezuma, Montezuma 60111, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
30% discount - $53/night!
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Remote yet convienent to town, Casa Carablanco was a true hidden gem with hosts that combine insider knowledge with homespun coo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Stay here. Khalida met us with homemade scones and Alex negotiated a seamless car rental...et al. Choose to bring only the best companions that enjoy nature and quiet beauty as this special place feels like Montezuma's best kept secret.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
39
76
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Stayed 6 wonderful nights at Casa Trogon with my 3 teenage children. We loved the swimming holes and waterfalls that run along the property. The views of the Pacific, the visiting wildlife and plunge pool after swimming/surfing in the ocean, was amazing, relaxing and refreshing. Our host, Alex and Khalida were very informative and gave us good information on sites, activities and supermarkets. The Casa was very comfortable and clean with a full size fridge and wash machine. Internet pictures are accurate.

Room Tip: Very hot and sitting in the plunge pool watching and listening to birds, monkeys and other animals w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

First of all, the owners Alex & Khalida were wonderful. Responded promptly to all my emails I sent prior to our trip and answered all my questions thoroughly. They were welcoming, friendly and very helpful during our stay. Accommodations were clean and very comfortable. It was great to sit on our little patio and watch the monkeys play in the trees! There was no air conditioning but there were ceiling fans. I was surprised how nice and cool it was in the evening and it was quite comfortable for sleeping. It was a great experience! Thanks Alex & Khalida!

Room Tip: Try and get one of the houses with a plunge pool..........it was great having our own little pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed in Casa Morfo for 7 nights in February 2013. Our friends stayed in Casa Trogon at the same time as us. We all agreed that Agua Vista was one of the best, if not the best, accommodations we've ever stayed in. The casa was comfortable, well-equipped and had a spectacular view of the Gulf of Nicoya. The plunge pool was a welcome addition to the hot days, right outside our bedroom door. Even though there was no AC in our casa, sleeping was comfortable with the ceiling fan in the bedrooms. The grounds are beautiful and well-kept. We saw more wildlife outside our casa doors than we did hiking through the Cabo Blanco nature reserve. The property is so quiet, peaceful and tranquil that it's hard to put it into words. I can't add much more to what the other reviewers have already said. I have nothing negative to say, except that it's my opinion that you would definitely want a car, or a moped at the least, to get around. If you value peace and tranquility as well as beauty of your surroundings all at an incredible value, Agua Vista is the place for you. We hope to get back there someday!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

This was the most incredible & special place for us to stay in Costa Rica. The house we had was amazing, we stayed in 2 different ones as we kept trying to extend our stay. The wild life and environment was completely mind blowing, with beautiful private waterfall walks literally on our doorstep. This was a complete retreat, a place to relax and enjoy the word's most natural pleasures and sights. Every thing was super clean and so well equipped we wanted for nothing. We were given such a lovely welcome & helpful local advice from Alex & Khalida - the owners (thank you so much!!) A very special place to stay we will most definitely be returning :)

Lynsey & James Warren

Room Tip: All houses are completely private & secluded with incredible Ocean views Spa comes in the form...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grassy Creek, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Our favorite place in Costa Rica was Agua Vista. We enjoyed the plunge pool and the view of the Gulf. The monkeys visited us in the morning, both howlers and white faced. The property is close to Montezuma and the beautiful beaches. The cabinas are equipped with everything you need, including the wonderful outdoor shower. I highly recommend staying here and exploring the Montezuma area.
Sally

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed 4 nights at Agua Vista at the end of a 5 weeks trip in Costa Rica. What a little paradise! The bungalow, the view, the pool, the jungle, the monkeys, the hosts, the waterfall... Close to Montezuma to explore the area, but a little away to taste the nature, it was a perfect end to this beautiful country.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Agua Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agua Vista

Address: 1 mile from downtown Montezuma, Montezuma 60111, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Agua Vista is located in the lush hills above Montezuma, at the bottom of the Nicoya Peninsula in Costa Rica. We offer stunning views, convenient access to town, and abundant wildlife. Each house, unique, tastefully designed and nestled into the jungle, is clean and comfortable and comes fully equipped. Agua Vista provides the perfect combination of seclusion and accessibility. We look forward to sharing our piece of paradise with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and T4B so you can book your Agua Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agua Vista Hotel Montezuma

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Agua Vista, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.