We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace and Tranquility” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Agua Vista

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Agua Vista to your Saves list
Agua Vista
1 mile from downtown Montezuma, Montezuma 60111, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Peace and Tranquility”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed in Casa Morfo for 7 nights in February 2013. Our friends stayed in Casa Trogon at the same time as us. We all agreed that Agua Vista was one of the best, if not the best, accommodations we've ever stayed in. The casa was comfortable, well-equipped and had a spectacular view of the Gulf of Nicoya. The plunge pool was a welcome addition to the hot days, right outside our bedroom door. Even though there was no AC in our casa, sleeping was comfortable with the ceiling fan in the bedrooms. The grounds are beautiful and well-kept. We saw more wildlife outside our casa doors than we did hiking through the Cabo Blanco nature reserve. The property is so quiet, peaceful and tranquil that it's hard to put it into words. I can't add much more to what the other reviewers have already said. I have nothing negative to say, except that it's my opinion that you would definitely want a car, or a moped at the least, to get around. If you value peace and tranquility as well as beauty of your surroundings all at an incredible value, Agua Vista is the place for you. We hope to get back there someday!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
40
77
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

This was the most incredible & special place for us to stay in Costa Rica. The house we had was amazing, we stayed in 2 different ones as we kept trying to extend our stay. The wild life and environment was completely mind blowing, with beautiful private waterfall walks literally on our doorstep. This was a complete retreat, a place to relax and enjoy the word's most natural pleasures and sights. Every thing was super clean and so well equipped we wanted for nothing. We were given such a lovely welcome & helpful local advice from Alex & Khalida - the owners (thank you so much!!) A very special place to stay we will most definitely be returning :)

Lynsey & James Warren

Room Tip: All houses are completely private & secluded with incredible Ocean views Spa comes in the form...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grassy Creek, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Our favorite place in Costa Rica was Agua Vista. We enjoyed the plunge pool and the view of the Gulf. The monkeys visited us in the morning, both howlers and white faced. The property is close to Montezuma and the beautiful beaches. The cabinas are equipped with everything you need, including the wonderful outdoor shower. I highly recommend staying here and exploring the Montezuma area.
Sally

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed 4 nights at Agua Vista at the end of a 5 weeks trip in Costa Rica. What a little paradise! The bungalow, the view, the pool, the jungle, the monkeys, the hosts, the waterfall... Close to Montezuma to explore the area, but a little away to taste the nature, it was a perfect end to this beautiful country.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Our family (parents and two kids ages 13 and 18) just returned from 10 lovely days at Agua Vista. What can we say that hasn't already been said by many? We stayed in Casa Trogan and the daily visits from monkeys and different varieties of birds, butterflies, agoutis, and coatis put us at the jungle's doorstep where we could view everything from the comfort of our own plunge pool. Truly...an amazing experience.
The daily maid service along with a well-equipped kitchen and communal infinity pool meant we could take (the looooonnnggg) walk into town once a day or not at all depending on our whim. We cooked in a lot (which we love to do) and had dinner in town at the excellent Cocolores and a few other restaurants a handful of times. The walk into town is significant, especially in the hot weather. But with the appropriate footwear and attitude, this is part of the adventure. A cab ride back up the long hill cost $6, so it was no big deal. This spot is perfect for people who are ready to relax and really enjoy the jungle sights and sounds. (And a glass or two of something chilled, perhaps).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

All the reviews that you find here about Agua Vista are 100% accurate and even your highest expectations will be surpassed after you experience your stay there. I was lucky enough stumble on this place while searching for somewhere special to propose to my girlfriend in Montezuma. It was everything I was looking for and so much more. The 6$ cab rides to Montezuma "centro" were worth every penny... It's just as much, if not significantly more, to rent a car or an ATV for the duration of your stay. Either way, you should walk to town at least once and take a cab back. It's a nature hike in itself, as the wildlife on the AV property is abundant! Having backpacked together years before in Costa Rica, my girlfriend and I couldn't have asked for a better place than Agua Vista to recapture the feeling and the experience of our first trip to this amazing country.... PURA VIDA!! What can I say about Alex and Khalida that hasn't already been said over and over throughout the other reviews? Well, not only did they help me plan my proposal all the way from Canada, but they participated in the whole thing and gave us both memories that will stick with us forever. The word hospitable does not even do these people justice, as they invited us into their home and we felt like we were instantly among good friends in this "slice of paradise". Agua Vista is Costa Rica, and more specifically Montezuma, in a nutshell...a magical place!

Room Tip: You want to book the Casa Cariblanco; most spectacular view on the property after the view from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We loved our week at Agua Vista. The view from your bed will never be forgotten! The rain forest comes to life every morning - what a fantastic way to wake up.

Just be aware that it's a very real 20-30 minute walk to get from the property to the road, then another 20-30 minutes into town. My suggestion if you are not coming by car is to rent a moped for your entire stay. Just add $30 a day into your budget. You can rent in Montezuma. We love exercise but day in and day out this was too much. Would love for Agua Vista to have these available! Alex and Khalida are wonderful hosts and are helpful in every way.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Agua Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agua Vista

Address: 1 mile from downtown Montezuma, Montezuma 60111, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Agua Vista is located in the lush hills above Montezuma, at the bottom of the Nicoya Peninsula in Costa Rica. We offer stunning views, convenient access to town, and abundant wildlife. Each house, unique, tastefully designed and nestled into the jungle, is clean and comfortable and comes fully equipped. Agua Vista provides the perfect combination of seclusion and accessibility. We look forward to sharing our piece of paradise with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B and Odigeo so you can book your Agua Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agua Vista Hotel Montezuma

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Agua Vista, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.