We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Agua Vista

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montezuma
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Agua Vista
1 mile from downtown Montezuma, Montezuma 60111, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Grassy Creek, North Carolina
1 review
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Our favorite place in Costa Rica was Agua Vista. We enjoyed the plunge pool and the view of the Gulf. The monkeys visited us in the morning, both howlers and white faced. The property is close to Montezuma and the beautiful beaches. The cabinas are equipped with everything you need, including the wonderful outdoor shower. I highly recommend staying here and exploring the Montezuma area.
Sally

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    145
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
73
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quebec City, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed 4 nights at Agua Vista at the end of a 5 weeks trip in Costa Rica. What a little paradise! The bungalow, the view, the pool, the jungle, the monkeys, the hosts, the waterfall... Close to Montezuma to explore the area, but a little away to taste the nature, it was a perfect end to this beautiful country.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Our family (parents and two kids ages 13 and 18) just returned from 10 lovely days at Agua Vista. What can we say that hasn't already been said by many? We stayed in Casa Trogan and the daily visits from monkeys and different varieties of birds, butterflies, agoutis, and coatis put us at the jungle's doorstep where we could view everything from the comfort of our own plunge pool. Truly...an amazing experience.
The daily maid service along with a well-equipped kitchen and communal infinity pool meant we could take (the looooonnnggg) walk into town once a day or not at all depending on our whim. We cooked in a lot (which we love to do) and had dinner in town at the excellent Cocolores and a few other restaurants a handful of times. The walk into town is significant, especially in the hot weather. But with the appropriate footwear and attitude, this is part of the adventure. A cab ride back up the long hill cost $6, so it was no big deal. This spot is perfect for people who are ready to relax and really enjoy the jungle sights and sounds. (And a glass or two of something chilled, perhaps).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

All the reviews that you find here about Agua Vista are 100% accurate and even your highest expectations will be surpassed after you experience your stay there. I was lucky enough stumble on this place while searching for somewhere special to propose to my girlfriend in Montezuma. It was everything I was looking for and so much more. The 6$ cab rides to Montezuma "centro" were worth every penny... It's just as much, if not significantly more, to rent a car or an ATV for the duration of your stay. Either way, you should walk to town at least once and take a cab back. It's a nature hike in itself, as the wildlife on the AV property is abundant! Having backpacked together years before in Costa Rica, my girlfriend and I couldn't have asked for a better place than Agua Vista to recapture the feeling and the experience of our first trip to this amazing country.... PURA VIDA!! What can I say about Alex and Khalida that hasn't already been said over and over throughout the other reviews? Well, not only did they help me plan my proposal all the way from Canada, but they participated in the whole thing and gave us both memories that will stick with us forever. The word hospitable does not even do these people justice, as they invited us into their home and we felt like we were instantly among good friends in this "slice of paradise". Agua Vista is Costa Rica, and more specifically Montezuma, in a nutshell...a magical place!

Room Tip: You want to book the Casa Cariblanco; most spectacular view on the property after the view from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We loved our week at Agua Vista. The view from your bed will never be forgotten! The rain forest comes to life every morning - what a fantastic way to wake up.

Just be aware that it's a very real 20-30 minute walk to get from the property to the road, then another 20-30 minutes into town. My suggestion if you are not coming by car is to rent a moped for your entire stay. Just add $30 a day into your budget. You can rent in Montezuma. We love exercise but day in and day out this was too much. Would love for Agua Vista to have these available! Alex and Khalida are wonderful hosts and are helpful in every way.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We stayed at Agua Vista during the second week of our 31 day honeymoon in Costa Rica. We enjoyed our stay so much that we extended it for an extra night. Alex and Khalida were very accomodating and hospitable. We were very happy to take advantage of the relaxing scenery and enjoyed that the location was close to town. The extra perk was having a maid come n every morning to ensure the accomodations were clean and enjoyable. We were amazed with the wild life surrounding this heavenly place you could sit and try to read a book and be completly distracted with what was going on around you! If you are a nature lover this is the place to stay!

Looking forward to our second trip back in 2013!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Our time at Agua Vista was pure relaxation, and the perfect way to finish our time in Costa Rica! It is further out of town than we were imagining (even having read other reviews), but in the end we really appreciated the distance. If you, like us, are travelling without a car and don't want to pay the $6-8 taxi fare (one way) to get in and out of town too many times, or if you're feeling too lazy to walk down the hill like we were, then do like us - we stocked up on food at the supermarket in town at the beginning of our stay, and we didn't leave the property by car at all after that! The kitchens are super well equipped so it was really easy just to buy food and cook it. We loved being able to stay on site and make the most of the gorgeous property: our lovely house, balcony, hammock and plunge pool at Casa Trogon, the swings in the gardens, the pool up at reception. We also enjoyed being able to hike down to the waterfalls and the pools directly from the property (half hour walk). Oh and having a washing machine in the house was a highlight too! The outdoor rock shower was gorgeous. The only extra thing it would be great to see is maybe to have some food available onsite. Perhaps dinner up near the main pool a couple of times a week? Thank you Alex and Khalida for a lovely stay!

Room Tip: Casa Trogon was absolutely gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Agua Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agua Vista

Also Known As:
Agua Vista Hotel Montezuma
Agua Vista Hotel
Address: 1 mile from downtown Montezuma, Montezuma 60111, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Specialty lodging in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Agua Vista is located in the lush hills above Montezuma, at the bottom of the Nicoya Peninsula in Costa Rica. We offer stunning views, convenient access to town, and abundant wildlife. Each house, unique, tastefully designed and nestled into the jungle, is clean and comfortable and comes fully equipped. Agua Vista provides the perfect combination of seclusion and accessibility. We look forward to sharing our piece of paradise with you. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Agua Vista, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Agua Vista to your Saves list