We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best food in Costa Rica” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Playa de los Artistas

Playa de los Artistas
| Across the street from Los Mangos hote, Montezuma, Costa Rica
26420920
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 32 Restaurants in Montezuma
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best food in Costa Rica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

The setting is very romantic and creative.
We started with a glas of wine, nice and cold.
The menu was very well explained, we both had fish from the outside oven. It was delicious!
And the homemade bread.....the absolute best we had in costa rica.
Very good value for money. You have to visit this place when you are in the peninsula nicoya!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    30
    26
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Unique setting, very good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Unique tables in the garden under Palms with candle and moon light. Very friendly, attentative and cordial Service. Food is very good, the best we had in town. A must for a couple. Would go again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, WA
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Great view of the ocean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Super fun and beautiful place for dinner. Great view of the ocean and ate by candle light. We had gnocchi with clams and a filo filled entrée. Both were excellent. Service was very good and whole place has a good vibe. Prices were typical of upper end dinner for the area.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“This restaurant has it all”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We stayed in Montezuma for two nights and had dinner at this restaurant both nights. Why? All the other restaurants in with similar prices seemed to have less interesting menues and are most certainly not located about 5 meters from the ocean with outdoor tables to overlook the swells! We loved to sit so clise to the water while enjoying fantasitc food (whole grilled fish was a real treat!) and being served by the very polite and knowledgable staff! If we return to Montezuma we'll keep having our dinners here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Best meal in Montezuma!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

My family of four went to dinner last night, July 3, 2014. My husband and I and two 20 year olds. We ordered four different plates. Zucchini with kale, cheese ect. Eggplant Parmesan, phyllo dough empenadas and seafood gnocchi. We all shared, Absolutely delicious. The sauces were so good we asked for extra bread to get every single bite. Planning to go tonight and getting the hour long whole chicken. Atmosphere sitting right in the beach is priceless . Service was great. Some reviewers I think are just a bit foreign snobbery. The waitresses were polite and helpful. A smile will go along way in any visiting country!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Playa de los Artistas also viewed

Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Playa de los Artistas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playa de los Artistas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.