We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique setting, very good food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Playa de los Artistas

Playa de los Artistas
| Across the street from Los Mangos hote, Montezuma, Costa Rica
26420920
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 33 Restaurants in Montezuma
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Unique setting, very good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Unique tables in the garden under Palms with candle and moon light. Very friendly, attentative and cordial Service. Food is very good, the best we had in town. A must for a couple. Would go again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    43
    29
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Spokane, WA
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Great view of the ocean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Super fun and beautiful place for dinner. Great view of the ocean and ate by candle light. We had gnocchi with clams and a filo filled entrée. Both were excellent. Service was very good and whole place has a good vibe. Prices were typical of upper end dinner for the area.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This restaurant has it all”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We stayed in Montezuma for two nights and had dinner at this restaurant both nights. Why? All the other restaurants in with similar prices seemed to have less interesting menues and are most certainly not located about 5 meters from the ocean with outdoor tables to overlook the swells! We loved to sit so clise to the water while enjoying fantasitc food (whole grilled fish was a real treat!) and being served by the very polite and knowledgable staff! If we return to Montezuma we'll keep having our dinners here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Best meal in Montezuma!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

My family of four went to dinner last night, July 3, 2014. My husband and I and two 20 year olds. We ordered four different plates. Zucchini with kale, cheese ect. Eggplant Parmesan, phyllo dough empenadas and seafood gnocchi. We all shared, Absolutely delicious. The sauces were so good we asked for extra bread to get every single bite. Planning to go tonight and getting the hour long whole chicken. Atmosphere sitting right in the beach is priceless . Service was great. Some reviewers I think are just a bit foreign snobbery. The waitresses were polite and helpful. A smile will go along way in any visiting country!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This place is a dream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

My boyfriend and I ate at this restaurant the last time we came to Montezuma two years ago. We sort of stumbled upon it and had basically struck gold. When we returned this time for my 35th birthday, it was just as I had remembered, enchanting, dreamy, and just amazing. The food is top notch - fresh, innovative, and delicious. The service is lovely - you are able to take your time and allow your meal to be a true experience - taking in the view, the smells, the tastes, the atmosphere, the company. You are surrounded by the sounds of the ocean, candleabras, cats on the comfy chairs, beautiful works of art. It's amazing. The family who runs this restaurant is incredibly kind as well. There was a huge rainstorm during our dinner and the power had gone out in the town. My boyfriend and I had no way of seeing our way back to our hotel so the owners graciously lent us a flashlight and umbrella, even offering to drive us back. That is the true essence of this town and its people - something that just adds to the wonder of the experience. Thank you and we will be back again very soon!!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Playa de los Artistas also viewed

Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Playa de los Artistas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playa de los Artistas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.