We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food with a View” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Playa de los Artistas

Playa de los Artistas
| Across the street from Los Mangos hote, Montezuma, Costa Rica
26420920
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 32 restaurants in Montezuma
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Food with a View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

My wife and I had lunch here on a Saturday (the only day they're open for lunch) and couldn't have been more pleased. The menu changes daily and is explained to the table in detail when you are seated. It's written in Spanish, but can be translated into English if your party isn't fluent. There are many fish and vegetarian options. We had the mahi mahi ceviche, chile relleno, and wood-fired mushrooms. All were delicious, as were the cocktails and the local Craft Brewing Co. beers. Our server was knowledgeable and pleasant and the service was attentive.

Oh, and many of the tables are located directly on the beach, under a grove of coconut trees. Truly magical location. The only downside is that the restaurant is located up a steep, dusty hill just outside of town. But, you can use the exercise as an excuse to order whatever you'd like!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    171
    26
    25
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Quirky and wonderful; one watch-out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

CASH ONLY. As is the case for many (almost all?) restaurants in this area, they do not accept any form of payment except cash. This is an expensive restaurant, so you will need to come with lots of cash. Everything was great, starting with the unique cocktails. What they serve each night depends on what they can get. It's a ton of fun. The place is beautiful, and very quirky. If that appeals to you, you will have a great time here.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sisters, Oregon
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The best in Montezuma”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Not only the best food in town, but the best setting as well. We had ceviche, goat cheese & beets, roasted chicken, and pasta. All were delicious!

The service was typical CR slow - 2 hours for our dinner but who is in a hurry anyway? Plus you are right ON the beach.

Be sure to reserve ahead or you will miss out!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Food love”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

A great experience. You can really feel they love what they do, and the result is, great tastes and a calm and peace environment. So recommended! My favorite in Montezuma.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Best spot in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

This place is great in every way. We ate here two nights out of three and both nights were really busy, however the service was really efficient and we hardly waited for the food. All the dishes we tried were excellent especially the fish in curry and banana sauce. Also do a happy bout from 4-6 which is a great spot for sundowners.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Playa de los Artistas also viewed

Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Playa de los Artistas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playa de los Artistas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.