We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The name says it all” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Playa de los Artistas

Playa de los Artistas
| Across the street from Los Mangos hote, Montezuma, Costa Rica
26420920
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 32 Restaurants in Montezuma
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Des Moines, Iowa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“The name says it all”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

This is such a special restaurant, with the perfect ocean front location, with tables outdoors, lighted at night, and the freshest food made with artistic flare. It's always something different and amazing. My favorite restaurant, anywhere!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    29
    25
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Good Food, Great surroundings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

Really good food, nice employees, and the atmosphere is great. Me and my boyfriend had dinner there, it has low lights, wooden tables and chairs, and is very quiet. Also quite romantic setting. We had the octopus with potatoes and a garlic and coriander sauce. It was lovely, the sauce was delicious. The other dish we had was the butternut squash with shrimps on top. The squash is carved and then refilled with itself, cheese, onion and some other things I could not distinguish. It tasted like a risotto, topped with great shrimps. These were classified as entrées but they are complete dishes, i would not have been able to have another dish after that. For drinks with had lovely mango juice, and the classic imperials!

Overall great, one of the best places I've eaten here in Costa Rica, and will definitely go back there if I have the chance.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“The.best.place.ever.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I miss Playa de los Artistas. We ate there almost every night during our seven day stay in Montezuma and were never disappointed. The restaurant is directly on the beach with some tables on the sand and some set back under an overhang. Playa de los Artistas is lit by beautiful candle light and torches, making it completely magical the minute you enter. The food and drinks are incredibly fresh. They usually have a special cocktail of the evening and, not matter what it is, I would order that if I were you. If not, go with their delicious fresh squeezed lemonade. Their stand out dishes are fish and seafood, which taste as if they just walked out into the ocean beyond the restaurant, caught the fish and cooked it to serve immediately. Some of the outstanding appetizers we had were tartares and crudos, which require only the best and most fresh fish. They also have excellent chicken and steak dishes if you aren't a seafood eater. This is a place to forget about the world completely and enjoy. Go there immediately!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Our Favorite Restaurant in Costa Rica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

What a find!! If you are tired of sodas or eating at your hotel and want a special experience, try Playa de los Artistas. This tiny restaurant is located up a small hill and is right on the beach. The Italian-Spanish chef is innovative and certainly a man of many talents. Being a chef from Canada I was more than impressed. My wife is a vegetarian, but that didn't stop us from going back twice in three days. They are accommodating to your needs and try to make your experience one to remember. The food was amazing; the ambiance was spectacular; and the prices were fair (for costa rican standards). When we returned they remembered us and made sure we had the best seat on the beach, not that there is a bad one. the food was perfectly flavored and the wine was presented in clay pots which I feel made the meal seem that much more authentic. The menu changes daily and the wait staff are very informed and will sit down with you to help explain what the chef is preparing.

Definitely our favorite places to eat of the entire month long trip.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A must when in Montezuma area!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I dine here as often as I can. With your toes wriggling in the sand, delicious always changing menu of fresh-daily cuisine and unique adult beverages make Playa de los Artistas a highlight. The service is stellar and the welcome is consistently warm and friendly.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Playa de los Artistas also viewed

Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Cabuya, Montezuma
 

Been to Playa de los Artistas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playa de los Artistas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.