We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must try while in Montezuma!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Playa de los Artistas

Playa de los Artistas
| Across the street from Los Mangos hote, Montezuma, Costa Rica
26420920
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 33 Restaurants in Montezuma
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Miami, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A must try while in Montezuma!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

This place is amazing! The food and service are top notch. Maybe the best food in all of Costa Rica. The view and vibe are outstanding. The menu changes constantly, which keeps things fresh.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    27
    25
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
on the road
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great food - Idyllic setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

This is the best dining option in Montezuma, by a wide margin. Sitting at one of the low tables lit by candlelight at the edge of the beach is a fantastic dining experience.

The food was excellent. A wide variety of immaculately prepared dishes were served with grace and ease.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Simply stunning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Perfect place for a special birthday meal. We sat at a low table right on the beach and watched a group of fire dancers while we ate our delicious meal. Menu changes daily and contains some creative options. We went back the following day, everything we tried was wonderful. Better to go a little early and watch the sunset from there, that way you can see your food more clearly too! A very special place. It was closed on Sundays.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A Gem in the Ruff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I Love this Place.... The Location, the Food & They have Local Brew that you Can't Find Anywhere else in this Area. We have Fallen in Love with this Place & It has become a Stop everyt time we got to Montezuma. The Menu is Written daily by hand & they serve some of the Most amazing Food in the Area hands down. It's a little pricey but you will not be dissappointed

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, MO
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“gorgeous location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

but didn't open until 4:30pm rendering those of us traveling there for lunch unable to eat there. I felt like we missed out as it looked amazing.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Playa de los Artistas also viewed

Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Playa de los Artistas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playa de los Artistas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.