We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem in the Ruff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Playa de los Artistas

Playa de los Artistas
| Across the street from Los Mangos hote, Montezuma, Costa Rica
26420920
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 33 Restaurants in Montezuma
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Gem in the Ruff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I Love this Place.... The Location, the Food & They have Local Brew that you Can't Find Anywhere else in this Area. We have Fallen in Love with this Place & It has become a Stop everyt time we got to Montezuma. The Menu is Written daily by hand & they serve some of the Most amazing Food in the Area hands down. It's a little pricey but you will not be dissappointed

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    43
    29
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, MO
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“gorgeous location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

but didn't open until 4:30pm rendering those of us traveling there for lunch unable to eat there. I felt like we missed out as it looked amazing.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“What a dreamy location/atmosphere whit great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

This was the complete picture. A beach located diner with candles as the main light source, which makes you think you are on your way to heavens door. The personel was very friendly and they explained the whole menu to us. I got the agliata (shark) which was delicious. They have some good beers which are not to be found in the supermarket such as Segua and Libertas. It was a amazing experience

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Milford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
71 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Surreal setting.....meager portions of intriguing food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

It is almost obligatory for anybody traveling to Montezuma to dine at Playa de los Artistes at least once.. The candlelit low tables spread along the sand and set only a few feet from the ocean creates an atmosphere than one can only describe as magical. The Mediterranian inspired menu walks a fine line between being exotic and interesting vs. pretentious and snooty. What we ordered-fish sausage, stuffed calamari with white beans, red snapper was certainly unique and, on the whole, very tasty. However, the portions were little more than tapa size. After spending a very physicaly active day, my body ached for just a bit more food matter. This aside, I certainly DO recommend Playa de los Artistes, if only for the restaurant's dreamy, tropical tranquility.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“No air kisses for touristas.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

The setting of this restaurant is fantastic as is the food... Though you won't find a salad on the menu or much in the way of vegetables at all. The various versions of fish carpaccio are dynamite and almost everything I've tried I've really enjoyed. The dishes are inventive and tasty. The service is ok but the attention from the top verges on disdain. This is off putting. The experience is better at lunch.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Playa de los Artistas also viewed

Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Playa de los Artistas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playa de los Artistas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.