We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Playa de los Artistas

Playa de los Artistas
| Across the street from Los Mangos hote, Montezuma, Costa Rica
26420920
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 32 restaurants in Montezuma
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Portland, Oregon
1 review
“Romantic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We loved it...we went in the evening, and were guided by a lit path that led to a beautiful spot. We got a table on the beach, and sat back enjoying it all! Yes, it's a little high in prices, but it was well worth it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    167
    26
    25
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Definitely worth a stop!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Try their signature drink--it's amazing! We ordered 3 entrees and split them: there wasn't one dish that didn't impress. Try the cocoa shrimp!!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boone, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Worth the price!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Don't get it wrong, it's not cheap - but it amazing one of a kind food that you won't forget or regret. The menu is hand written every day and we had things we had never had before. Not to mention they serve locally brewed beer from Montezuma (a rare commodity in CR).

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Average beyond average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Overall, this restaurant was a bit of a letdown. The setting, as mentioned in other reviews, is obviously great, but as others have mentioned, the prices are steep for what one gets.

The appetizers we had were quite good. The tuna carpaccio was delicious, as were the prawns that had a mild chocolate sauce.

The pork shoulder that I ordered was actually roastbeef, which was way overcooked.

For the cost of the meal ($70), I don't think we got full value and better meals could have been had at lower prices around town.

One, potentially odd, complaint involves the menus. Because the menu is always changing (which is great), they only have 2 menus, which waitresses carry around and explain to each table. The problem is that the entire menu is Spanish. No doubt, we are in a Spanish speaking country, but the vast majority of people who go to the restaurant are English speaking. Considering the average Tico makes less than $500 per month, very few could afford a meal here. Why not at least have one menu is English and one in Spanish?

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Italian dining in a tropical setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

We find out about this pace by mouth. Than we checked TA and felt a strong need to go. the setting of the restaurant is idyllic, tables arranged under massive trees offering full privacy. The view over the beach and Pacific Ocean is stunning, it can't be more tropical and romantic. The owner is a very charming Italian lady who hosts the restaurant with the typical Italian flair. The rest if the staff is very friendly and is professional. The food is the biggest surprise: in chocolate dipped large shrimps on a bed of avocado mousse is like an explosion of taste in your mouth. You wish it came with many more shrimps.... The gazpacho with shrimps and couscous is another starter you have to try! As a main we had a whole barracuda, grilled with fresh thyme, a light crispy skin and soft and juicy meat; it cannot taste better. The menu offers the most beautiful choice: fondant of chocolate, made of Costa Rican chocolate in a clay pot, a must try. Whenever you visit the area, book a table and live in a dream for one evening!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Playa de los Artistas also viewed

Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Cabuya, Montezuma
 
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Cabuya, Montezuma
 
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas

Been to Playa de los Artistas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playa de los Artistas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.