We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Whole barracuda? Yes please!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Playa de los Artistas

Playa de los Artistas
| Across the street from Los Mangos hote, Montezuma, Costa Rica
26420920
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 33 Restaurants in Montezuma
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Whole barracuda? Yes please!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

What a beautiful atmosphere! I love that the menu changes daily based on what the chef finds fresh locally. I had a whole barracuda wrapped around grilled bell pepper, with polenta colored with squid ink and a green sauce. For dessert was the chocolate blackberry torte. My main dish was $20, so this is probably one of the priciest places in town, but definitely worth a visit!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    43
    29
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
louisville, ky USA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in costa rica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

playa de los artistas was the best restaurant i experienced while in costa rica. the food and service were impeccable. the atmosphere was incredible. the look, the design, the bathroom, the outdoor fireplace, the outdoor pizza oven, the fresh fish, the view, the art, the bathroom, the artist created menu cover and hand printed daily menu combined to create an incomparable experience. Though i listed the restaurant as a casual sit down (because it is a casual dress laid back place), the price is not casual. Price for 2 with drinks was approximately $70 US.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“nothing to add to all the excellent critics”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

During our month trip in this wonderful country we tried to eat as much as possible local. And we were often very pleased. Often the poorer the place looked the better the food was. We tried to avoid european or american food. But this was very special! The setting on a beautiful beach, candles and nice furniture, great service, and excellent food was just amazing! What struck me most is that they managed to blend in the Italian origins with local products.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“one of the best restaurants in costa rica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

wow! i cant begin to tell how great this is. the location is right on the beach. large wooden slab tables. right next to the surf. we had a caviar brushetta for an appetizer.i had a mahi mahi stew with potatoes in a tomato based thick broth. my fried had octopus on white beans. i wish i could in words convey how my taste buds went wild. you cant beat the atmosphere. we had to go back agin. the menu is always changing. it is expensive but well worth the cost. if you are anywhere near you have to stop. 5 stars isnt enough!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bermuda
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“listen to the waves while you dine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

pdla is right on the edge of the ocean, be serenade by the waves while you dine. the menu is updated according to the catch of the day and the freshest food available. decent wine list kept me happy.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Playa de los Artistas also viewed

Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Playa de los Artistas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playa de los Artistas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.