We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nothing to add to all the excellent critics” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Playa de los Artistas

Playa de los Artistas
| Across the street from Los Mangos hote, Montezuma, Costa Rica
26420920
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 32 Restaurants in Montezuma
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
paris
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“nothing to add to all the excellent critics”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

During our month trip in this wonderful country we tried to eat as much as possible local. And we were often very pleased. Often the poorer the place looked the better the food was. We tried to avoid european or american food. But this was very special! The setting on a beautiful beach, candles and nice furniture, great service, and excellent food was just amazing! What struck me most is that they managed to blend in the Italian origins with local products.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    30
    26
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“one of the best restaurants in costa rica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

wow! i cant begin to tell how great this is. the location is right on the beach. large wooden slab tables. right next to the surf. we had a caviar brushetta for an appetizer.i had a mahi mahi stew with potatoes in a tomato based thick broth. my fried had octopus on white beans. i wish i could in words convey how my taste buds went wild. you cant beat the atmosphere. we had to go back agin. the menu is always changing. it is expensive but well worth the cost. if you are anywhere near you have to stop. 5 stars isnt enough!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bermuda
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“listen to the waves while you dine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

pdla is right on the edge of the ocean, be serenade by the waves while you dine. the menu is updated according to the catch of the day and the freshest food available. decent wine list kept me happy.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montezuma, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“One of the best restaurants anywhere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Playa de Los Artistas is a very famous place, with a tiny sign in front so most tourists walk right past it and never know what they missed. It's right on the beach so I recommend going early before sunset so you can see the water. A meal here is not just food... it's an epic dining experience that takes 2-3 hours. The food here is art and they have a new menu every day. I live in Montezuma and come here often, as does everyone who lives in town, especially for special occasions or to thrill out-of-town guests. Many people have said it was the best place they've ever eaten.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best meal in Costa Rica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

A memorable experience with innovative and beautiful food, unparalleled ambiance, and unobtrusive service. The sheer variety and quality of food is impressive for a restaurant located in the remote southern Nicoya Peninsula. Also, the quality of the kitchen staff is impressive - best grilled octopus I’ve ever had. Any seafood-lover knows that’s quite challenging.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Playa de los Artistas also viewed

Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Playa de los Artistas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playa de los Artistas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.