We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious and Romantic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Playa de los Artistas

Playa de los Artistas
| Across the street from Los Mangos hote, Montezuma, Costa Rica
26420920
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 33 Restaurants in Montezuma
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Pittsburgh
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Delicious and Romantic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We were staying at Amor de Mar a few doors down, and were eager to try this place (it was highly recommended in my guidebook). This little gem did NOT disappoint! All of the tables are on the beach (your feet are actually IN the sand), candlelit with perfect ocean views.

We shared 5 courses of the day and all were fantastic, and incredibly fresh. Do NOT miss this place!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    208
    43
    29
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful location and amazing food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

This restaurant had easily the most romantic location of any place we ate at on our honeymoon in Costa Rica. Right on the beach with lots of beautiful hand made wood furniture and fixtures. We had drinks and appetizers as we got there just as they were opening and it was a little early for dinner. Food was great and the service was top notch. The menu was all hand-written (I was told they menu changes every day) and our server took the time to go over ever single item on the menu in detail for us. Highly recommended that if you are in the area that you make it a priority to have a meal at Playa del los Artistas!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Completely Unlike the Rest of Montezuma”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Our dinner experience: set way back through a dark gate and unlit walkway, you'll find a hidden oasis of candle-lit chunky wooden chairs and tables all nestled in the sand under a canopy of dark wooden beams and vines. Oh my god. Beautiful.

While the rest of Monetzuma is zooming around on ATVs on a dusty, loud, stinky road, we were here in this tranquil place where the menus are hand written (beautifully), the staff perfectly attentive, and the vibe was exactly what we needed. Did we walk through some kind of wormhole to get here?

The food was excellent. All items on the menu were clearly made with intention and attention to detail. And yet the price for this 5-star food was the same as the food at the other (and some even very crappy) establishments.

In a nutshell, if you want creative food (not classic meat & potatoes), vegetarian options, and an atmosphere that makes you think you're very privileged to be there, then this is the place for you.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“a place to eat and linger....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

loved the location, the food and the fact that we could linger on the beach... a must-do in Montezuma!

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“They could be the best.......”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

The food in both Montezuma and the entire stretch of Santa Teresa/Play Carmen are limited at best. So don't set your standards to high. Our best meals have been in sodas (and the magical pork tamales smoked in banana leaves we got from a cab driver while we were drinking beer with a local guide).

With that low standard set, Playa de los Artistas was fantastic. We started with a "carpaccio" of what was fish (I think in his instance it was dorado). The fish was fresh, and so lacking seasoning that I just couldn't believe it. Had I been given some citrus, salt or anything to pull the flavor of the fish, it would have been delightful. It was a total waste of the fish, as well as the money. We also ordered grilled fish for 2......while the presentation was lovely, and I like my fish simple, this was over the top BLAND. 1/8 a teaspoon of salt and a lime would have worked perfect on this grilled fish, but they chose to cover it in unseasoned olive oil?????

The side dish was an attempt to roast the local white potatoes found everywhere in the region. They were undercooked, under seasoned, and oily. While the location is lovely, the food is not actually not very good. But they have potential to be the best in the area, if the owner/chef would learn to just season his food......

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Playa de los Artistas also viewed

Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Playa de los Artistas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playa de los Artistas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.