We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a place to eat and linger....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Playa de los Artistas

Playa de los Artistas
| Across the street from Los Mangos hote, Montezuma, Costa Rica
26420920
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 32 restaurants in Montezuma
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“a place to eat and linger....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

loved the location, the food and the fact that we could linger on the beach... a must-do in Montezuma!

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    171
    27
    25
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“They could be the best.......”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

The food in both Montezuma and the entire stretch of Santa Teresa/Play Carmen are limited at best. So don't set your standards to high. Our best meals have been in sodas (and the magical pork tamales smoked in banana leaves we got from a cab driver while we were drinking beer with a local guide).

With that low standard set, Playa de los Artistas was fantastic. We started with a "carpaccio" of what was fish (I think in his instance it was dorado). The fish was fresh, and so lacking seasoning that I just couldn't believe it. Had I been given some citrus, salt or anything to pull the flavor of the fish, it would have been delightful. It was a total waste of the fish, as well as the money. We also ordered grilled fish for 2......while the presentation was lovely, and I like my fish simple, this was over the top BLAND. 1/8 a teaspoon of salt and a lime would have worked perfect on this grilled fish, but they chose to cover it in unseasoned olive oil?????

The side dish was an attempt to roast the local white potatoes found everywhere in the region. They were undercooked, under seasoned, and oily. While the location is lovely, the food is not actually not very good. But they have potential to be the best in the area, if the owner/chef would learn to just season his food......

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NRH
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The BEST!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Unlike anything I've ever experienced..laid back....food was 5 star...on the beach...they hand write the menu...I told my wife" This is where I'm going to write my book!"

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed in Montezuma for three nights; we went to Playa de los artistas on the second night and immediately knew we would be returning for the third night! The food is on par with any nice restaurant I would go to in the U.S. The chef definitely has a mediterrean feel. The restaurant itself is really cozy too, right on the beach (great to watch the sunset). The menu changes nightly, which is great. Also, the entire menu is handwritten and in Spanish, so the servers come over after you have drinks and explain each dish. Being a server myself, I thought this was a really great touch, showing that they really know the food.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Wow, amazing food. The prices are higher than most places in Montezuma, but it is still very reasonable and well worth it for the quality! Definitely make sure you have a meal here.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Playa de los Artistas also viewed

Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Playa de los Artistas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playa de los Artistas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.