We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Robbed and disgusted” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Pension Jenny

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montezuma
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pension Jenny
Save
You added Pension Jenny to your Saves list
Montezuma, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 16 Montezuma B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Robbed and disgusted”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Ended up here in peak season due to lack of availability in town. In hindsight, would have been better off sleeping on the beach.
On arrival, we tried to ignore the dirty toilet, bathroom, floor and sheets which we were paying $20pp/night for, and left to view the town. On our return, we discovered our door still locked, secure window intact and our bags thoroughly searched and valuables gone.
We left as soon as possible, were not given a refund, and the owners did not help with the police and were not at all concerned by what had happened.

Room Tip: Avoid at all cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    0
    0
    1
    7
See reviews for
Families
0
2
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    1 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    1 of 5 stars
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012 via mobile

This was the worst place I've ever stayed in my life, including my experiences in many wet tents and dirty frat houses.

Non of the toilets flushed and were overflowing with sewage, not that you could see this because there were no light bulbs in the sockets in the toilets. The showers and sinks hadn't been cleaned in what looked like six months and were filled with bugs and even a crab. There was rotting fruit lining the windowsills that an array of insects called home. The kitchen was too gross to even contemplate making a cup of coffee in let alone a meal. And I'm far from a neat freak.

At one point there was no running water and nobody on the property to report it to.

It is a shame, because the building is beautiful and the location is great and a deep cleaning and some basic maintenance and service would make this a great place. Until management turns the place around though, your better off sleeping on the beach then here.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

If you absolutely need to save every last colone, then pension Jenny is a really cheap way to do that. Be warned, you get what you pay for. Long rough dirt road to drag luggage up. Almost no room to move about in the room. Our room was open air at the top of the wall which meant the bed was full of all kinds of beetles, mosquitoes and some creatures that we debated about actually being bedbugs. Hot, sweaty, tiny, and buggy. If you are trying to save money and just need a place to lock up you bag, pay the 5mil colones a night, lock the door, and sleep on the beach (just make sure you get back before 11am to check out or (as the posters warn) you may be charged for another day.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liège
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2008

I went there on april 2008 and I had only troubles and problems. I had to pay before for the week and since I had to leave earlier they didn’t refund me. Moreover the crew there was totally unfriendly and not helping. Other guests there were drunk and stoned all the time and doors couldn’t close. Not safe! You don’t want to pay that price to stay in that area of costa rica. Pension jenny must be among the worst place to stay in Montezuma.. Avoid!

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — Everything else
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pension Jenny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Jenny

Address: Montezuma, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Montezuma

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pension Jenny, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.