We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breath taking” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casitas Sollevante

Save Saved
You added Hotel Casitas Sollevante to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Casitas Sollevante
3.0 of 5 Villa   |   Calle Linda Vista | 200 metros antes de Cabinas Linda Vista, Montezuma 60111, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Green Season Deal
1 review
“Breath taking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2010 via mobile

What an amazing place and experience. This place had wonderful and friendly staff. They were very nice and helpful when we needed anything or had questions. The view was so beautiful and the sunsets are gorgeous, photos don't do it justice. At night you can hear the ocean waves rolling in and see every star in the sky. I would definietly recommend having a car though.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    12
    3
    2
    4
See reviews for
8
33
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2010

My husband and I stayed here for two nights in early January.
After a long trip from the central valley we were completey worn out when we arrvied at Sollevante. We we warmly welcomed and shown to our apartment.

We stayed in the upstairs unit which is a studio apartment with a basic kitchen, sleeping area and nice bathroom. The unit is sparcely but tastefully decorated and is air-conditioned. The real winning point of the unit is the great balcony with fantastic ocean views (which can also be enjoyed from the bed through the sliding glass doors). We were also delighted by the many birds we spotted and heard--it seems that it is not only humans who have discovered the peacefull atmosphere at Sollevante!

Another great feature of Sollevante is the swimming pool area, it is just amazing and so well maintained.

The only recommendations I could make for improvement are minor--the bed in our unit was extremely hard (which some may like but we didn't) and the kitchen could use a few more details, such as a toaster or/and microwave. Also our A/C didn't seem to work consistently but I'm sure this is something that can be easily taken care of (and probably already has!).

Overall we would higly recommend staying here, the other units/houses looked to be of comaprible quality and the whole property is well maintained. The location is a far walk from town but the seclusion is worth the $5 taxi ride! The staff are friendly and attentive and we had the pleasure of meeting the owner, Marco who was nice to give us some lifts in his car too.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lapocka
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2009

I came to stay to Cassitas Sollevante for a week at the beginning of December and found the experience very pleasant. It's located up in the hills out of town and has an amazing view over the ocean. The place has a lot of space and a pool and a very peaceful atmosphere. The house is nicely set out, simple, but has everything necessary including a fully functioning kitchen. Bright colours, hot showers and clean, this is definitely the place to come and chill.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2009

I stayed in Casitas Sollevante for the Easter break and I have to say that this has probably been the best holiday I have had in years. We stayed in a couple of other hotels downtown but we usually found them very noisy and the level of humidity was very uncorfomtable at night time. We decided to stay a bit further away from the city so we found Casitas Sollevante which is located right on top of a hill overlooking Montezuma, the air is much fresher as you are surrounded by the rainforest and the 180 degrees view of the ocean is simply amazing!!!plus Montezuma is only a few hundreds of metres away if you wanna enjoy the nightlife. The apartments are fully furnished and you have everything you need there so sometimes we were inviting our friends over for dinner and then going to the jacuzzi to relax. what an amazing experience! I have already booked my xmas holidays here for the next year.

Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
italia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2008

What a GREAT place! we stayed at Sollevante in March for one month and everything was absolutely perfect. The lodging, which overlooked the sea, was tidy and clean and perfectly fitted to the natural enviroment. We liked a lot being out of the village and noise, since for the first time we could experience a lifestyle we had found nowhere before. We got the impression we were guests of Nature, in a place where human beings live together with animals and plants in perfect harmony. Every morning we woke up at 6 to enjoy a moving dawn and waited for the Urraca bird, which came to rest on our table. Behind Sollevante there is a path to the waterfalls, so everyday we had beautiful strolls through the forest searching for monkeys, parrots and many different animals. When we were too tired to walk we asked Alvarado, who always give assistance to guests, to call us a taxi or to take us to the village.
We consider our experience as absolutely positive.
Our advice is to go to Sollevante!

  • Liked — it's a peaceful place
  • Disliked — Everything was perfect
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queens, NYC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2008

I really came to this place expecting so much more.. I was misinformed by the distance this place iwas to the town of Montezuma and to the facilities there. I was told that the pool would be done by December 2007, but it was far from finished when we got there.. There was construction every day starting at 6am.. and it was LOUD!... also the road is so awfu to town... there are NO cabs that take you to town or back... we had to hitch-hike... or walk.. there are NO lights on the road and it was at least a 20-30 min walk up a VERY steep, dirt road. My friend lost her shoe becasue we were walking back to sollevante at like 9 pm in the pitch dark and a car was coming up the hill, and it's impossible for cars to see you on the road..so we ran casue we were scared with no shoe!
One of the nights we came back to no lights or water. after a very tiring and sweaty day...The woman Carla also only helped till she got paid. The first day she gave us a ride to twon.. after we gave her money.. we didn't hear from her again.. we saw her in town where she ignored us... We wired 50% of the payment from new york and our bank charged us a fee to do this.. when we gave her the other 50% she charged us a fee because her bank charged her... but there is no other way to pay her!.. it ended up being a lot more than we thought it would
Honestly this place looks lile it WILL be nice.. after all the construction is done.. and maybe they have a shuttle or something to town..i think they are not used to have people there, which is why the service was terrible... we ran out of toilet paper after the first day...
save yourslef a lot of trouble and stay in town near the beach...

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Casitas Sollevante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casitas Sollevante

Address: Calle Linda Vista | 200 metros antes de Cabinas Linda Vista, Montezuma 60111, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casitas Sollevante 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are planning your next holidays in Costa Rica you must take some time to go and visit the resort "Casitas Sollevante" in Montezuma. The resort itself is located just minutes away from the lively town of Montezuma, situated in the province of Puntarenas, in the southern Nicoya Peninsula (one of the 4 Blue Zones in the world). Casitas Sollevante is the perfect destination for travelers seeking an enchanting escape for their holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hotel Casitas Sollevante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casitas Sollevante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.