We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis Above Montezuma” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casitas Sollevante

Save Saved
You added Hotel Casitas Sollevante to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Casitas Sollevante
3.0 of 5 Villa   |   Calle Linda Vista | 200 metros antes de Cabinas Linda Vista, Montezuma 60111, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Oasis Above Montezuma”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Our stay in this hotel was terrific. It's a marvellous location just above Montezuma, so you can enjoy the town and then experience a tranquil setting overlooking the ocean with an absolutely gorgeous view.

There's quite a lot to do around Montezuma (waterfalls, hiking, beaches, surfing), and the staff were quite helpful in making suggestions and accommodating all our needs.

Note that you can't really walk from town (it's a good steep climb), however it's only a 2 minute drive. There are great restaurants in Montezuma, but for a chance of pace we cooked in the room and then set a table outside to eat under the stars. It was glorious.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    12
    3
    2
    4
See reviews for
8
33
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We had a fantastic time at Casitas Sollevante! The staff was welcoming, friendly and very helpful; they helped us with activity and dining recommendations and never led us astray. The breakfast (not included in hotel price) was good and is served by the pool, which is nice. The pool was lovely and our room (the upper apartment) was nice; a small kitchen area, living area and bathroom with a nice, large porch with a great view of the ocean. The property is a 5 minute taxi ride up the hill from Montezuma; taxi fare each way is about $6 US. It is walkable, but since we had a three year old with us that was not so practical. If you don't have small kids with you it could be walked easily (though going up that hill on the way back would be a challenge). The room and property was very clean and well maintained, and the staff clearly takes pride in making it a nice place to stay. I would definitely recommend this place - and Montezuma itself was a fantastic place to visit!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

my boyfriend and i stayed at casitas sollevante for ten days. we rented a studio apartment which was exactly what we needed for the duration of our stay. Casitas sollevante is only 10 minutes walk from downtown montezuma and it was great exercise walking to and from town. the property is lively with colours overlooking hills, surrounded by the sounds of the wildlife. The staff were always very accomodating and helpful. The kitchen was equipped with plates, glasses, pots and pans, complimentary coffee and fridge which was perfect because we cooked many meals to save on costs. There was a table outside on the balcony to dine in peace, and a cute little hammock. There is a beautiful pool that is rested on a hilltop and from the hill you can see the ocean from there. It is the perfect spot to catch the sunrise, and we watched it while listening to the waking howling monkeys. i would definately recommend casitas sollevante.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Sorry but this place was a big disappointment. I was under the impression that I was renting a private home from a homeowner and that wasn't the case. We had to share the pool with all the surrounding casitas. I guess this is my own fault for not investigating this further. However, the place was in horrible condition. There were no ceiling fans and none of the windows had screens so we could not open any of the windows without letting creatures and bugs in. The beds had “a” sheet. That was it. No other bedding at all and it was just generally uncomfortable. There was a huge colony of ants streaming in through the window in the kitchen and the place was just tiny. For $120 a night I expected a lot more. If we were able to leave after the first night I think we would have. To think that we stayed at Si Como No in Manuel Antonio for $25 more a night is a little unbelievable. If this place was $50 a night and the photos were more accurate it might be ok for those that are traveling on a budget. The pool is nice but not when you have to share it with extremely loud Europeans. I had high hopes for this place but left very disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Van, Turkey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Had a great time here staying here for five days with my girlfriend back in May of 2011... I promised the woman working there (can't remember her name unfortunately) that I'd write a review and haven't gotten around to it until now, so things may or may not have changed since we were there, but judging on the pace of life in Montezuma I wouldn't be surprised if it was the same.

PROS/CONS (as of May '11):

+ Very clean, well-kept casitas (cottages) spread out over a spacious, very nicely landscaped hilltop property
+ Friendly, helpful staff
+ Nice pool/hottub with a view (I think it was more like a lukewarm tub, considering the weather there)
+ Mango and Starfruit trees nearby, and a blender in the room! Great for DIY breakfast smoothies
+ Chicho the giant pot belly pig!
+ Great place for a long stay, feels like a modest home away from home
+ A/C
– About a 10-20min walk to town, either through a fairly steep forest path which can be intimidating if you aren't familiar with Costa Rican jungle, or down a steep gravel road that isn't lit at night. Between the howler monkeys above, barking guard dogs along the way, and the speedy local drivers whipping around the sketchy dirt corners, it's not for the faint of heart (Make sure you bring a flashlight!)... Either way, you have a bit of an adventure/nightmare walking back in the dark depending on your perspective. We chose the jungle 9/10 times, and always ended up spotting some interesting wildlife: iguanas and some smaller lizards, howler monkeys and a few birds– Most notably a blue motmot!
– WiFi was decent but not the best, this may have changed but I remember chasing it across the property... Best spot was near the pool.
– They were doing some construction at the time which wasn't a big deal at all but was a bit disrupting. Completely understandable since we were pretty much the only ones there at the time, so this isn't really a complaint

All in all it's a great place if you don't mind the location. Easily recommendable for a long stay, though I'd choose something closer to town if you're only in the Montezuma area for one night.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

The rooms and bungalows are situated on a hill some 3 km from the centre of Montezuma. They are situated on a road alongside expensive holiday houses enjoying the benefits of more breeze and view than the hotels in the town itself. The quality of the accommodation is excellent and there is a beautiful pool. The woman who cleans and cooks is dellightful and the night watchman does a good job. But it is far from town and transport is difficult, especially on Sundays when taxis tend not too work. My tip - only come here if you have your own transport.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Nice place to stay in Montezuma for long time stay with the litle cabin house with two room and a litle kitchen, the view is very nice on the ocean and the sun rising!! it is up the hill of downtown Montezuma, 5 mins drive to the city center where you can find restaurants and stores.Try the Zuma tour to the Isla Tortuga for snorkling and beach time.

Room Tip: Ask for the cabin near the big swimming pool!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Casitas Sollevante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casitas Sollevante

Address: Calle Linda Vista | 200 metros antes de Cabinas Linda Vista, Montezuma 60111, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 Specialty lodging in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casitas Sollevante 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are planning your next holidays in Costa Rica you must take some time to go and visit the resort "Casitas Sollevante" in Montezuma. The resort itself is located just minutes away from the lively town of Montezuma, situated in the province of Puntarenas, in the southern Nicoya Peninsula (one of the 4 Blue Zones in the world). Casitas Sollevante is the perfect destination for travelers seeking an enchanting escape for their holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Casitas Sollevante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casitas Sollevante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.