We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect - if you have a car” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casitas Sollevante

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Casitas Sollevante to your Saves list
Hotel Casitas Sollevante
3.0 of 5 Villa   |   Calle Linda Vista | 200 metros antes de Cabinas Linda Vista, Montezuma 60111, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Perfect - if you have a car”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012 via mobile

We loved our little casita! We had a car so access to Montezuma was easy - you don't want to walk that hill. The pool was lovely and everything was modern and well designed - love the curved outdoor shower enclosures. We did find our room wasn't cleaned daily, and an odd smell emanating from the bathroom. But not a big deal for us. All in all, very nice.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    12
    4
    2
    4
See reviews for
8
34
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ashland, OR
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2011

Haviar and Varina are a nice couple who took very good care of us. A major plus when you are so out of your element. We saw green parrots, both capuchin and howler monkeys and other great wildlife on the premises. One of the best parts was being showed to the upper waterfall by Ricardo. It is a lot less crowded than the lower falls and super refreshing. I highly recommend staying here.
-Kailee & Chris

Room Tip: We stayed in the lower apartment and loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

We absolutely loved Casitas Sollevante! The grounds were beautiful - the pictures don't even do the view justice - and the pool was so refreshing after a day in the surf. The staff was wonderful - Varina and Marco were always there to help with anything you may need. Our apartment was exactly what we needed - a great balcony to spend mornings and evenings on, the most comfortable hammock we encountered in San Jose, and resident porker Cheecho always brought a smile to our face! Can't wait to come back again!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2011

We had been around much of CR and this was our final stay after beachfront rooms, hostels, rainforest hotels, sunset hotels, etc. We came to Montezuma our last night and needed a quiet spot before out trip home. It felt like we had the place to ourselves. An absolutely perfect evening above the action in town, our own kitchen and porch overlooking the ocean, a pool like glass, and not a soul around. We bought a few things and cooked a delicious breakfast in the morning to the sounds of animals in the trees and the view of the morning Pacific. Utterly satisfied with this spontaneous turn off the main road.

**To boot: After we left, I realized I'd left a book in the house and emailed the staff. Within two weeks the book was back in my hands, and I was so grateful and impressed with their service. Sollevante comes highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

We traveled with friends and rented two casitas. Both were lovely and the grounds and view were gorgeous. Varina and Sammy were very friendly and helpful. The casitas are perched above the town of Montezuma and it is a steep 15-20 minute hike to get into town, fine for people with a car or strong hikers (the proprietors will happily give you a ride if they are around). The casitas and grounds were very peaceful, and we appreciated being away from the touristy town center. While there was no hot water, the temperature was fine for a shower; it was pleasantly cool after a hot hike up the hill. The pictures of the pool look straight from a travel magazine--and it really looks like it in person!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2010

Montezuma is really different. You have lots of restaurants and bars, and few beaches with no rocks. Despite that, it's reallaxing, cozy and has a safe atmosphere.
This hotel was picked between a few choices, and we're really glad we did it.
The amazing view of the Pacific in the porch was great. Spent there an entire afternoon (because it rained really much) and it was just great... the lightning and thunder at sunset and night were awesome.
The rooms were nice, the kitchen has everything you can expect from it.
Really nice place.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2010

My friends and I checked into Casitas Sollevante mid November intending to stay for five nights, we ended up staying for seven. Our group of five shared the two casitas at the top of the property with stunning views of the exceptionally maintained grounds overlooking the ocean. The interior of the casitas is furnished in a simple, clean style which only contributes to the relaxing feel of the place. Equipped with air conditioning, hot shower and kitchen as well as a comfortable, clean bed we couldn't ask for more! We definitely made the most out of the pool and the newly built deck to relax and enjoy the serenity and the sun!

The staff and in particular the owner Marco are extremely helpful and friendly in a genuine, relaxed sort of way. The place is a 15 minute walk from Montezuma's town centre and a 15 minute hike from the awesome waterfalls nearby. We were provided with a lift into town and picked up on every occasion that we asked for one (except for the one time Marco fell asleep watching TV! :-))

I would not hesitate to recommend this place and hope to come back again some day!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Casitas Sollevante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casitas Sollevante

Address: Calle Linda Vista | 200 metros antes de Cabinas Linda Vista, Montezuma 60111, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casitas Sollevante 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are planning your next holidays in Costa Rica you must take some time to go and visit the resort "Casitas Sollevante" in Montezuma. The resort itself is located just minutes away from the lively town of Montezuma, situated in the province of Puntarenas, in the southern Nicoya Peninsula (one of the 4 Blue Zones in the world). Casitas Sollevante is the perfect destination for travelers seeking an enchanting escape for their holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Casitas Sollevante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casitas Sollevante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.