We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The pictures are true” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casitas Sollevante

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Casitas Sollevante to your Saves list
Hotel Casitas Sollevante
3.0 of 5 Villa   |   Calle Linda Vista | 200 metros antes de Cabinas Linda Vista, Montezuma 60111, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Green Season Deal
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The pictures are true”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

We traveled with friends and rented two casitas. Both were lovely and the grounds and view were gorgeous. Varina and Sammy were very friendly and helpful. The casitas are perched above the town of Montezuma and it is a steep 15-20 minute hike to get into town, fine for people with a car or strong hikers (the proprietors will happily give you a ride if they are around). The casitas and grounds were very peaceful, and we appreciated being away from the touristy town center. While there was no hot water, the temperature was fine for a shower; it was pleasantly cool after a hot hike up the hill. The pictures of the pool look straight from a travel magazine--and it really looks like it in person!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    12
    3
    2
    4
See reviews for
8
33
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2010

Montezuma is really different. You have lots of restaurants and bars, and few beaches with no rocks. Despite that, it's reallaxing, cozy and has a safe atmosphere.
This hotel was picked between a few choices, and we're really glad we did it.
The amazing view of the Pacific in the porch was great. Spent there an entire afternoon (because it rained really much) and it was just great... the lightning and thunder at sunset and night were awesome.
The rooms were nice, the kitchen has everything you can expect from it.
Really nice place.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2010

My friends and I checked into Casitas Sollevante mid November intending to stay for five nights, we ended up staying for seven. Our group of five shared the two casitas at the top of the property with stunning views of the exceptionally maintained grounds overlooking the ocean. The interior of the casitas is furnished in a simple, clean style which only contributes to the relaxing feel of the place. Equipped with air conditioning, hot shower and kitchen as well as a comfortable, clean bed we couldn't ask for more! We definitely made the most out of the pool and the newly built deck to relax and enjoy the serenity and the sun!

The staff and in particular the owner Marco are extremely helpful and friendly in a genuine, relaxed sort of way. The place is a 15 minute walk from Montezuma's town centre and a 15 minute hike from the awesome waterfalls nearby. We were provided with a lift into town and picked up on every occasion that we asked for one (except for the one time Marco fell asleep watching TV! :-))

I would not hesitate to recommend this place and hope to come back again some day!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2010

We stayed at Casitas for four nights in April. We were immediately stunned by the beautiful view of the Pacific. The first thing we did was jump in the pool! It was a very pleasant place to relax and enjoy the lovely view. We had booked the apartment, but something was wrong with it so they bumped us up to a 2 bedroom villa. The villa itself was basic, which it looks like most of the places in Montezuma are. It was clean upon arrival, although as always, be careful about ants! We forgot to close our cereal bag completely and we woke up the next morning with ants in it. We were very satisfied with our choice after seeing other places in the Montezuma area. The Casitas are just outside of Montezuma (which we were really happy about), there was always a nice breeze, and it was a lovely place to come back to after a long day playing in the sun and surf. I would recommend the Casitas for anyone looking for a lovely place to spend time in Montezuma and relax with a beautiful view!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2010

I spent 6 days in one of the villas with some friends. We found some cheap plane tickets and decided to get away from New England for a little bit.

This place was the perfect contrast to being cramped up in a tiny Brooklyn apartment on a chilly, rainy April day. The managers were great and very helpful, giving us suggestions and rides down to Montezuma. They showed us a private path to the town's breathtaking waterfalls and helped us find a boat tour to Isla Tortuga at the last minute.

Montezuma is an interesting and small town--definitely worth checking out. But Casitas Sollevante is an incredible place in its own right. There's a pool and hot tub where you can lounge and gaze at the ocean in the distance. Or you can float around and see the many stars at night. The grounds surrounding the villas and apartments are filled with beautiful plants and well-kept grass and paths.

Our villa had air-conditioning in the bedrooms, so we were able to get some nice, cool sleep. There was a full kitchen for some cooking-in (there are only so many restaurants in Montezuma!) as well as a coffee maker, safebox and TV. The latter is kind of unnecessary, though, because staring at a screen seems ludicrous when there's such a wonderful view right outside.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2010

What an experience! Had two nights in Montezuma centre and then treated ourselves to two nights in Casitas. After staying next to the ocean for two nights and listening to the waves, it was a pleasant change to sleep in an air conditioned room, enjoy a hot shower and wake up with the view, not sound of the ocean :) It was a complete relaxation - the hammock and the view is the perfect combination and if you feel like doing some exercise, the pool is just nearby.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2010

My husband and I just returned from a 2 week stay at Sollevante . We rented one of the villas. We have been to Costa Rica 5 times and this by far was the best trip ever. Staying at Sollevante was what made the trip so perfect. The web site doesn't do the place justice. It is gorgeous! The grounds are beautifully maintained, the casitas are in excellent condition, well maintained, cleaned daily with great care. Marco the owner, is very kind and accommodating. The staff are all exceptional people, helpful, kind and caring.

It is very quiet and thoughtfully landscaped creating privacy for every casita. The views of the ocean are astounding . It is very close to town, yet off the main road so it is quiet and not dusty(which can be quite an annoyance if you're too close to the road).
We love to cook and made all our meals there. It was so peaceful and relaxing. I can't say enough about how much I loved staying here. We are definitely coming back and bringing more family with us. This place is too awesome to keep to ourselves...and can easily accommodate large groups. It would be perfect for a family reunion.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sollevante, manager at Hotel Casitas Sollevante, responded to this review, April 8, 2010
Thank you very much for you visit.
We are fortunate to have customer like you in our hotel.
We hope to see you next time in the future.

Thank´s for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Casitas Sollevante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casitas Sollevante

Address: Calle Linda Vista | 200 metros antes de Cabinas Linda Vista, Montezuma 60111, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casitas Sollevante 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are planning your next holidays in Costa Rica you must take some time to go and visit the resort "Casitas Sollevante" in Montezuma. The resort itself is located just minutes away from the lively town of Montezuma, situated in the province of Puntarenas, in the southern Nicoya Peninsula (one of the 4 Blue Zones in the world). Casitas Sollevante is the perfect destination for travelers seeking an enchanting escape for their holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Casitas Sollevante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casitas Sollevante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.