We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay with kitchen” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines

Save Saved
You added Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 East Public School of Cerro Plano, Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve 77-5655, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay with kitchen”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

With kids and us being vegetarians Los pinos was a perfect location for us to stay. The super market was close by and we used the kitchen provided in the room. We had three bedrooms and ended up using two. The hotel staff was great.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    109
    26
    13
    6
See reviews for
132
237
8
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We four stayed at the family cabin. It is large with great showers, satellite TV, cooking and dining area, three bed-three bath, six beds and maid service. We had lunch and breakfast in the cabin and went out for most suppers. There restaurants within walking distance or taxi service and if you make reservations at most Monteverde tourist activities, a van will pick you up.

We were relaxed in the cabin and active in the area. It was perfect for us.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lacombe, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We stayed in the family cabin with 5 family members all together. It was perfect - exactly as pictured. The cabin has 3 bedrooms and 3 bathrooms, a common area and a well-equipped kitchen. We cooked one supper at the cabin, and went out for pizza on the second night. Los Pinos is close to all the Monteverde attractions, and it has some highlights of its own. We watched sunsets from the hilltop viewpoint, picked lettuce for our sandwiches at the hydroponic greenhouses, and walked on the trails around the beautiful grounds.
The only drawback of our cabin was that it gets very dark at night, and the lights aren't very bright, so maybe bring a flashlight or extra lamp for evenings. The nights were so quiet and beds were comfortable, and the rooms and bathrooms were spotless.
The staff is helpful and pleasant, and the rates were very reasonable, so we would definitely recommend this hotel for a family on a vacation.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Area de Conservacion Guanacaste, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

I own and operate a small tour company in Costa Rica. This was a great find. The cabins are very clean and well maintained. The beds were comfy and the showers hot. It was perfect!! The landscaping was exactaly what you would expect for the cloud forest. This was a perfect spot for my clients and they were very happy. I will continue to use them for all my trips to the area. Great breakfast place across the street.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Our group was very impressed with these cabanas. Upon arrival the staff was extremely friendly and helped us to set up an afternoon zipline tour nearby. We were able to check in early which was great. The family cabin was very large with three bedrooms and three bathrooms as well as a living area and kitchen. The cabana was very clean and the beds were comfortable. The grounds of the property were amazing and the hydroponic gardens very impressive.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We enjoyed Los Pinos, and they're great for the price. The staff was very friendly, and it was extremely clean. Overall we were satisfied. As mentioned in a few other reviews, the place would do well to add a bit of light. I'm all for being green, but you can get a 100W equivalent CFL bulb that uses only a few more watts and the main room would be much more liveable at night. The showers also drained extremely slow (i.e. standing water for 10 minutes after the shower) in the cabin we were in...we reported it and they were going to have someone take a look but never did.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Can't say enough about Los Pinos. Wonderful, friendly staff, access to greenhouses with fresh vegetables, beautiful gardens, hiking trails (we saw coatis and tayras) and even a playground. We enjoyed the fact that we had our own cabin with a picnic table and access to a kitchen to cook. It's also walking distance to a great little panaderia. We loved the privacy of having our own cabin -- it's exactly the kind of away from it all experience we were looking for in Monteverde. We will be back!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines

Address: 200 East Public School of Cerro Plano, Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve 77-5655, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in an amazing ecotourism destination between the Santa Elena and Monteverde Reserve, our comfortable cabanas provide easy access to all that this area has to offer including hiking, horseback riding, canopy tours, suspension bridges, frog ponds, butterfly gardens and the opportunity to view the flora and fauna of this unique, Monteverde climate. After a day’s adventures we invite you to relax in our beautiful gardens and enjoy a cup of coffee in our fully furnished cabins. Enjoy Monteverde Cloud Forest nature lodging at its best! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines Hotel Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines Monteverde, Costa Rica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.