We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines to your Saves list
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   200 East Public School of Cerro Plano, Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve 60109, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Holland
1 review
“Great place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2008

Nice fully equiped cabins. Really relaxed atmosphere and beautifull gardens! Very friendly and helpfull staff! Great value for money!

  • Liked — Independency
  • Disliked — plastic matrass cover!
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    412
    134
    29
    14
    5
See reviews for
161
291
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2008

We just stayed at Los Pinos in January for a couple of nights. Totally loved it.

It's location was fantastic, fairly close (10-15 mins) to the Monteverde forest entrance and near several restaurants and hotels. It's a pretty long walk to downtown Santa Elena but a quick drive.

Anyway the little cabins are well back and in the woods a bit from the main road so it has a nice secluded feel. We got lucky and had a junior suite, which basically has a full kitchen, living room and bedroom. The bathroom was good and showers were warm and welcome. The decor is slightly dated, but who the hell cares.

Rafael at the front desk was totally friendly and helpful as well.

Definitely recommended, especially for extended stays due to affordability and full facilities in certain cabins

  • Liked — Having our own cabin in the woods
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2008

Located between the town of Santa Elena and the Monteverde Cloud Forest reserve, Cabañas Los Pinos was a very comfortable, plain, and quiet spot just off the main road in a beautiful setting of flowers, lawns, and pine trees. We did fine without a car. The family cabin (US $ 100) was once 3 adjoining cabins but now has the addition of a great room with living area and kitchen. Each bedroom has its own bathroom with shower. There is no restaurant but there are several within walking distance. The English speaking manager was wonderfully helpful! The living area of the cabin has comfortable chairs/sofa and broadcast TV. The kitchen has fridge, micro, coffee maker, sink, and 2 burner gas ring. Everything is quite clean and the showers have high pressure hot, hot water. There is a market within walking distance for coffee, milk, granola, etc. Without a car, you will need a taxi but I would certainly stay there again for the price and location.

  • Liked — Location and setting. The showers!
  • Disliked — No restaurant.
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2008

Los Pinos is arguably the best value you will find in Monteverde. We stayed in January for three nights in Cabin 2 and were dragging our feet to leave.

The cabins are set very far apart on the property for privacy, and the grounds are lush and immaculate. The cabin had a full working kitchen with dishes and any applicance you could need (stove, coffee maker, microwave, refrigerator, electric frying pan, blender, rice cooker!) which allowed us to cook some meals, a wonderful break after several days of traveling. Very clean, with daily housekeeping service. Large bedroom with a decent mattress, plenty of space for luggage. And our favorite part -- a large sun room with a breakfast table and comfy arm chairs for watching sunsets!

Rafael, the owner/manager is a delightful human being, very attentive to our needs and wants for the trip. He personally booked our excursions and called taxis for us, akin to the concierge at a fancy hotel. He also warned us about tours that other people hadn't liked, which was nice. My only complaint to this end was the shuttle that was booked for our return to the airport -- a terrible experience (Mountain Adventures, I believe the company is called?) but I can't fault the cabins for that.

It's an easy walk to Santa Elena, entirely downhill, about 15 minutes. Along the way there are two ATMs, numerous restaurants (recommend Sofia for dinner and Dulce Marzo for delicious sandwiches and good local info), and some book and art shops. We took a cab to the Reserve because it was so early ($7) but there's a bus that runs from Santa Elena about every 2 hours for $1/person. Within a 5 minute walk there is a supermarket (on a dirt road off the main road).

If I'm ever back in Monteverde, I'll definitely stay here!

  • Liked — Service, cabin amenities, peaceful locale, location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mass.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2007

A friend and I stayed here in June 07. We enjoy walking, so walked everywhere, to the Monteverde Cloud Forest, the Children's Eternal Rain Forest, area restaurants, shops and Santa Elena. The cabins were comfortable, private and the grounds pleasant. There was a grocery store in close walking distance, so we prepared breakfasts and a meal or two at the cabin and ate on the porch. I'd stay there again.

Stayed June 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisboa
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2007

I stayed there on the beginning of the month and loved it. Beautiful gardens, clean and spacious cabañas... And the staff is wonderful. I strongly recommend this hotel...

Stayed December 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2007

This is a real jewel of a place in Monteverde. I stayed with my family in Cabin 12, which was very new, clean, and spacious. It had a television, full kitchen, dining table, deck, and sofa bed in the living room, and two beds in the bedroom. It was really nice to have two rooms for a little privacy. The family that owns the place were warm and friendly. The children speak great English, the parents not so much. There is a golf cart to help you with luggage. Bring warm clothes for the night, and be prepared for a not so great plumbing system. The hot water is a plus though! The cabins are very private, spaced out, and surrounded by lovely grounds and gardens. It is in a superb location, a quick cab ride to the cloud forest and santa elena, and walking distance to Palmeras and Flor de VIda restaurants (I would recommend them both). I felt very safe, relaxed, and comfortable there and would certainly go back!

Stayed June 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines

Address: 200 East Public School of Cerro Plano, Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve 60109, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in an amazing ecotourism destination between the Santa Elena and Monteverde Reserve, our comfortable cabanas provide easy access to all that this area has to offer including hiking, horseback riding, canopy tours, suspension bridges, frog ponds, butterfly gardens and the opportunity to view the flora and fauna of this unique, Monteverde climate. After a day’s adventures we invite you to relax in our beautiful gardens and enjoy a cup of coffee in our fully furnished cabins. Enjoy Monteverde Cloud Forest nature lodging at its best! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com and T4B so you can book your Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines Hotel Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines Monteverde, Costa Rica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.