We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bat Jungle

The Bat Jungle
Frente Restaurante Tramonti en Monteverde, Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve 5655, Costa Rica
506-2645-7701
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: # 85 live bats free-flying in our huge enclosure, designed to resemble the cloud forest at night# Guided tour by professional guides takes about 45 minutes# The tour is both informative, educational and entertaining, with a focus on biology and conservation# Cleverly designed interpretive exhibits, like our giant ears, huge bat heads, and bat skeleton.# You will see, at close range, 85 tropical fruit-eating and nectar-feeding bats from the Monteverde area# Our bats fly, eat, socialize, and even give birth before your eyes
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Costa Rica
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Just went today and it was way cooler than I expected. Walk there from town even tho it's a trek. When you get there enjoy the chat with the guides / Dr. . They are the actual bat researches and they have a plethora or information that totally kept my ADHD in check. I loved it. Then seeing the actual bats was way cool. I had no intention of going but I had met some random Trekkers at lunch and am thrilled I decided to go.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    232
    66
    15
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Azle, Texas
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Love bats, but never see them at home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

They have about a 50' "batrun" that when they turn out the lights you can see them fly to the fruit, and eat. We have lots of bats around out lake house in Texas, but rarely see them except as a swift pass. This was very educational.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winter in FL
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Bats and chocolate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We loved this place. The researcher who took us into the viewing area of the large bat-filled enclosure was very knowledgeable and answered all the kids' (11 and 15) questions very patiently and carefully. It's a great place to find shelter from the afternoon rains and get informed at the same time. And there is a wonderful chocolatier up the stairs in the same building. Don't miss it.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bats are interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Very informative and interesting.Kelly really knows her stuff. Did you know there are 1100 species of bats and 112 are in Costa Rica?

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Nice but short tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The tour guide was nice and very competent. You'll get an good insight into the world of bats. TIP: Take a tour with feeding times. The only downside was the lenght of the tour. For ten dollars we expected a slightly longer tour.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bat Jungle also viewed

Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
 
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
 

Been to The Bat Jungle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bat Jungle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.