We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really enjoyed the tour!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bat Jungle

The Bat Jungle
Frente Restaurante Tramonti en Monteverde, Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve 5655, Costa Rica
506-2645-7701
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: # 85 live bats free-flying in our huge enclosure, designed to resemble the cloud forest at night# Guided tour by professional guides takes about 45 minutes# The tour is both informative, educational and entertaining, with a focus on biology and conservation# Cleverly designed interpretive exhibits, like our giant ears, huge bat heads, and bat skeleton.# You will see, at close range, 85 tropical fruit-eating and nectar-feeding bats from the Monteverde area# Our bats fly, eat, socialize, and even give birth before your eyes
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed the tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stumbled upon the Bat Jungle while honeymooning in Monteverde. My husband was not a fan of bats but we decided to take the tour. Our guide was extremely knowledgeable and interesting. He taught us a lot so by the time we went into the exhibit where the bats are, we had an entirely different outlook on them and definitely new found respect! My husband is even talking about putting up a bat box when we get home!

This is well worth the hour you will spend on the tour!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    231
    66
    15
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Instructive tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Very instructive tour! You'll see bats in a different way after that. The price is a little bit too expensive but guides are very passionate!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hackettstown, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Bat Jungle tour was a very informative and fun tour that gave us a great insight into the life and behaviour of bats. The guide clarified many misunderstandings and myths surrounding these flying mammals. My kids (6 and 9 years old) really enjoyed it and learned a lot!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canmore, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Quite small museum, but the knowledgeable and enthousiastic staff made up for it. I have a much greater appreciation for the importance of bats upon the ecosystem. The highlight was watching the bats behind the glass in the room at the back during mealtime. Highly recommend visiting this tour while in Monteverde.

Tour lasts about 40m-1h; 10$/student, 12$/adult.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“A great attraction for young and old”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

A group of four of us recently visited The Bat Jungle. Not really knowning what to expect we were delighted to experience a most informative and educational tour. For anyone travelling around Monte Verde we would definitely recommend including this venue as part an itinerary. Excellent value and extremely interesting
Doug and Ulai Kirwin
Thailand

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bat Jungle also viewed

Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
 
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
 

Been to The Bat Jungle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bat Jungle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.