We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great attraction for young and old” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bat Jungle

The Bat Jungle
Frente Restaurante Tramonti en Monteverde, Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve 5655, Costa Rica
506-2645-7701
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: # 85 live bats free-flying in our huge enclosure, designed to resemble the cloud forest at night# Guided tour by professional guides takes about 45 minutes# The tour is both informative, educational and entertaining, with a focus on biology and conservation# Cleverly designed interpretive exhibits, like our giant ears, huge bat heads, and bat skeleton.# You will see, at close range, 85 tropical fruit-eating and nectar-feeding bats from the Monteverde area# Our bats fly, eat, socialize, and even give birth before your eyes
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“A great attraction for young and old”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

A group of four of us recently visited The Bat Jungle. Not really knowning what to expect we were delighted to experience a most informative and educational tour. For anyone travelling around Monte Verde we would definitely recommend including this venue as part an itinerary. Excellent value and extremely interesting
Doug and Ulai Kirwin
Thailand

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    244
    69
    14
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We really enjoyed learning about the bats. Seeing all the bats in the "bat" room was great. Tour only takes about an hour.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, WA
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Small, but very educational”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We attended a tour with our children (ages 7 & 10), along with a group of university students. The museum is actually quite small, but they have part of it set up outside, so that is where the tour starts. The founder's daughter gave us a tour and her English is perfect. They have skeletons you can look at under a magnifying glass and huge bat ears you can try out. The highlight is the dark room where you can observe the bats behind glass.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great educational experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

My husband and I did not know too much about bats, so we enjoyed this small exhibit and especially the guide's enthusiasm about bats. Seeing the bats behind glass was awesome!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murphys, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Bat's are our frriends!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Changed my impression of bats. Excellent presentation on the bat and how important they are to the ecosystem.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bat Jungle also viewed

Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
 
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
 

Been to The Bat Jungle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bat Jungle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.