We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trust me, Don't Miss It” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bat Jungle

The Bat Jungle
Frente Restaurante Tramonti en Monteverde, Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve 5655, Costa Rica
506-2645-7701
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: # 85 live bats free-flying in our huge enclosure, designed to resemble the cloud forest at night# Guided tour by professional guides takes about 45 minutes# The tour is both informative, educational and entertaining, with a focus on biology and conservation# Cleverly designed interpretive exhibits, like our giant ears, huge bat heads, and bat skeleton.# You will see, at close range, 85 tropical fruit-eating and nectar-feeding bats from the Monteverde area# Our bats fly, eat, socialize, and even give birth before your eyes
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Trust me, Don't Miss It”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

Looking for a way to fill an afternoon in Monteverde, we saw the reviews on trip advisor and took a chance. Best decision ever. Tour guide Vino should be given an ecological medal for his passion and purpose. He totally engaged us and made bats totally fascinating. Our two kids ages 15 and 12 said it changed their opinions on bats. We now understand their importance in our ecosystem.Thanks so much Vino for the great experience

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    231
    66
    15
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belleville
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent and informative”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We visited the bat jungle at feeding time, 3 pm and it was most informative and educational. The guide was most knowledgable and had excellent English. We were able to take photos of the different species of bats as they were feeding no flash photography of course. The bat cave is behind glass so no concern of bats coming near you. Check when feeding times are , as that is the best time to go. It takes about 45 minutes to an hour for the talk and to see the feeding and the entrance fee is very reasonable . We highly recommend it to families with youngsters as it is most education
.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Very interesting! Thanks Fabio for the tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

Very interesting to spend on hour here and learn about the bats!!!
Fabio is very knowledgeable and we really enjoyed the tour! Not worth without explanation.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“meh”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I came here at opening time, 9am on a saturday.

The girl working there looked like she had just crawled out of bed.
She offered me either a guided tour for 10$ or a self-guided tour for 3$

of course I chose the self-guided tour. ...and I`m glad I did.
It`s just a room with one species of bat behind glass. You can watch them flying around and eating fruit ...after 5 minutes of that there`s not anything more to see.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rklaval, Owner at The Bat Jungle, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Burritumber,
We are sorry you did not fully enjoy your trip to the Bat Jungle. Unfortunately, in your case the self-guided tour was a bad choice. There is lots going on in our huge flight chamber among the 8 species of bats inside, but you needed a guide to show you what was happening. The guided tour of the exhibit areas is also very popular with our visitors because they learn so much, presented in an entertaining fashion. Please look at our other recent reviews.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
2 reviews
“Amazing bat jungle!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The bat jungle was one of the highlights of my Costa Rica trip. The first half of the tour, a very well informed guide (with very good English) told us about the different kind of bats there are, where they are found and what they eat (ranging from fruit to animal blood!). Who knew that one bat can eat up to 5000 insects in one night? You can have a look at real skulls, touch replicated heads and find out how many bananas you would need to eat if you ate as much as a bat (335 a day for me!). The second half of the tour you go visit the 80 bats that live in the cave. You want to be there at either 9am, noon or 3pm when the bats are fed and you can see them grab food, eat it and even fight over it! What's also really neat is that you can hear the bats communicate and use echolocation. All in all a very informative experience that left me amazed!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bat Jungle also viewed

Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
 
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
 

Been to The Bat Jungle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bat Jungle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.