We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing bat jungle!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bat Jungle

The Bat Jungle
Frente Restaurante Tramonti en Monteverde, Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve 5655, Costa Rica
506-2645-7701
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: # 85 live bats free-flying in our huge enclosure, designed to resemble the cloud forest at night# Guided tour by professional guides takes about 45 minutes# The tour is both informative, educational and entertaining, with a focus on biology and conservation# Cleverly designed interpretive exhibits, like our giant ears, huge bat heads, and bat skeleton.# You will see, at close range, 85 tropical fruit-eating and nectar-feeding bats from the Monteverde area# Our bats fly, eat, socialize, and even give birth before your eyes
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Surrey, Canada
2 reviews
“Amazing bat jungle!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The bat jungle was one of the highlights of my Costa Rica trip. The first half of the tour, a very well informed guide (with very good English) told us about the different kind of bats there are, where they are found and what they eat (ranging from fruit to animal blood!). Who knew that one bat can eat up to 5000 insects in one night? You can have a look at real skulls, touch replicated heads and find out how many bananas you would need to eat if you ate as much as a bat (335 a day for me!). The second half of the tour you go visit the 80 bats that live in the cave. You want to be there at either 9am, noon or 3pm when the bats are fed and you can see them grab food, eat it and even fight over it! What's also really neat is that you can hear the bats communicate and use echolocation. All in all a very informative experience that left me amazed!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    217
    61
    13
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Playa Potrero, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Super Cool”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This was a great find. Super educational- so much to learn about bats. From Grandma to granddaughter, we all enjoyed it and learned a lot. And the Argentinean restaurant upstairs is fantastic!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Monte Verde Bat Cave”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We stopped here on our way back from Monte Verde Reserve, which was a disappointment. We walked from the Reserve back to Santa Elena, and found this attraction on the way back inthe town of Monte Verde. Our guide, who was from Belgium, did an excellent job teaching us about the different types of bats, where they live and how they benefit the planet. It was fun and educational. Then we went into the bat cave where they have furit eating bats. It was very cool to watch them roost, fly around and eat fruit. The highlight of our day! Highly reocmmended!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“The Bat Jungle is Awesome!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

The Bat Jungle was the coolest place we visited in the Monteverde area, and we went to the Serpentarium, Butterfly Garden, and Frog Pond as well as the Monteverde Reserve. They were all interesting, but the Bat Jungle was by far the most affordable, and to learn about these creatures and then get to see the bats feeding and caring for their little ones was very cool, and something that is nearly impossible to see in a natural setting. Our guide was extremely passionate and enthusiastic, I would consider this a must-see in the Monteverde area!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Bats and Tequila?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Great little place to learn about the most abundant group of mammals on the planet......and without them, no tequila. Just one tidbit!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bat Jungle also viewed

Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
 
Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
 

Been to The Bat Jungle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bat Jungle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Bat Jungle to your Saves list