We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Informative!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bat Jungle

The Bat Jungle
Frente Restaurante Tramonti en Monteverde, Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve 5655, Costa Rica
506-2645-7701
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: # 85 live bats free-flying in our huge enclosure, designed to resemble the cloud forest at night# Guided tour by professional guides takes about 45 minutes# The tour is both informative, educational and entertaining, with a focus on biology and conservation# Cleverly designed interpretive exhibits, like our giant ears, huge bat heads, and bat skeleton.# You will see, at close range, 85 tropical fruit-eating and nectar-feeding bats from the Monteverde area# Our bats fly, eat, socialize, and even give birth before your eyes
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
San Diego, California, United States
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Informative!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We really like bats and now we like them even more! I learned a ton about bats and my wife was very interested in the information as well. The guide we had calmly explained everything interesting we could ever want to know about the local bats and some of his experiences with catching them for research purposes. Of course you can't leave without stepping on the scales that tell you how many bananas you would need, per night, to survive as a bat your weight! After that, you get to go see the bats flying around and snuggling or sleeping. They eat fruits and drink nectar in their home while you observe them.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    244
    69
    14
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Pete Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Very interesting, bats, bats and bats!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We came here as a group. The naturalist was really into bats, a little too batty. But that is his thing and I get that. It's kind of strange, but here is a bakery cafe above the bat area, that has great pastries, juice and wine. It is a fun way to end you tour and watch the terrific sunsets.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornelius, North Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Terrific naturalist, lotsa bats!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Great experience! Learned more than I ever wanted to know about bats in general and those species that inhabit Costa Rica. Well worth a stop if you're in Monteverde.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Very interesting and educational”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

My daughter loved it!
The talk was VERY interesting.
At first I felt like I'm going to waste my time on the 30-min talk before actually seeing the bats.

At the end we didn't want to leave, kept asking questions.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalton, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Bats are our science fair project now”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

With the sun setting at 5:30 everynight, it can be hard to entertain the kids. The Bat Jungle really did the trick. My 8 and 10 year old LOVED it so much they came back to the hotel - quoting enless facts about bats and how important they are to our environment. The topic is now our science fair project. We even built a bathouse to install in the Spring. The Dutch Scientist was so knowledgable and very patient with our excited children. It was well worth the excurion. Don't miss it.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bat Jungle also viewed

Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
 
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
 

Been to The Bat Jungle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bat Jungle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.