We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fascinating” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bat Jungle

The Bat Jungle
Frente Restaurante Tramonti en Monteverde, Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve 5655, Costa Rica
506-2645-7701
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: # 85 live bats free-flying in our huge enclosure, designed to resemble the cloud forest at night# Guided tour by professional guides takes about 45 minutes# The tour is both informative, educational and entertaining, with a focus on biology and conservation# Cleverly designed interpretive exhibits, like our giant ears, huge bat heads, and bat skeleton.# You will see, at close range, 85 tropical fruit-eating and nectar-feeding bats from the Monteverde area# Our bats fly, eat, socialize, and even give birth before your eyes
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Fascinating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We had a brilliant tour guide, who seemed to know everything about bats! His enthusiasm was infectious and it was amazing to see so many bats close up. This is definitely worth a visit!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    244
    69
    14
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Must see for Costa Rica travellers!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

This guide was the most passionate, and knowledgeable person I had ever had. He had a number of facts, and interesting figures about these varied species and I thoroughly enjoyed my experience. The entry fee was more than reasonable at around $10. We were suggested to walk there from the town centre which for anyone used to a short hike would be fine, it was all up hill and took around 40mins so would perhaps suggest a taxi. My only suggestion would be that they get together a collection of bat related souvenirs and they had only a handful of t-shirts for purchase. A must see for anyone visiting Monteverde, or the Costa Rica area.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing and Informative - well worth the visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

The tour guide was very friendly and spoke fluent english it was a very personal experience as it was a small group. I learnt a lot and its always great to see active efforts in conservation.
It was very easy to find and we walked from the center of Monteverde its up hill but if you like walking it doesnt take long.
Reasonably priced and theres even a chocolate shop upstairs so top marks from me :-)
My only critisism is there wasn't a gift shop full of bat things for me to buy! ;-)

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Very Informational”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

It's a personal half hour tour where you get introduced to live bats, and even hear their echolocation. It's very informative and the guides are knowledgeable. Fluent in spanish and english.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Educational, fun and adorable bats.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

We wandered in out of the rain and had lot of fun learning about bats. Not much to the place, but it's full of fun facts and interesting displays. If you happen to be in the area check it out!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bat Jungle also viewed

Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
 
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
 

Been to The Bat Jungle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bat Jungle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.