We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazingly beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Elena Skywalk

Santa Elena Skywalk
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Costa Rica
+50626455238
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Scenic/ Historic Walking Areas, Bridges
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Half way between the town of Santa Elena and the Santa Elena Preserve the Sky Walk is located: This complex use trails, suspension bridges for a more tranquil introduction to the ecology and natives of the forest canopy, constructed within the cloud forest. It allows a vision of the forest from a different perspective which starts with a walk on the ground taking you up to explore the treetops, a hardly discovered habitat, called the “canopy” with a naturalist guide. Also discover the night wildlife at our Sky Walk Night Tour.
Athens, Georgia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Amazingly beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

My brother, friends and I went ziplining. While it was terrifying because of the height it was breathtaking to be above the canopies and look down on the jungle. One zip line was 1/2 a mile long. What a rush. When you start the trek, you go up the mountain in a sky tram. It stops at a canopy platform with a bar. After getting up there I had to indulge in a specialty hot chocolate (with option of alcohol). I have been zipping in Georgia but that is nothing compared to this. That is like saying you skiied a bunny hill. These would be like black diamonds.

The guides are very conscience and friendly. The guide spoke English well. At the end you have an option to buy a video of your group. The video cameras are placed on the helmets as you zip. It is hilarious to hear what people say as they launch from the platform.

There is an area to put your belongings but it is not secure. I brought a back pack and had no problem zipping with it on.

I highly recommend this if you want a serious thrill. It makes you feel alive. Enjoy!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRSkyAdventures, Public Relations Manager at Santa Elena Skywalk, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Hello ... as you say always having fun!, thanks for your comment We appreciate knowing that you enjoy, we will consider to use lockers for more reliable system, Greetings to you and your friends!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    30
    8
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This whole town while tiny is amazing. So beautiful and the hanging bridges were beautiful and peaceful. I would definitely recommend taking a stroll on some of them. Walking above the rainforrest canopy is not something you get to do everyday.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The best way to experience the cloud forest in Monteverde”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Seeing the cloud forest from the top of the canopy is an unforgettable experience. I highly recommend seeing it with a guide and taking your time when you are walking on the bridges. Don't forget your binoculars because you will have the opportunity to see some amazing birds including the Quetzal. I loved it.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Rancho
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Walking on top of the trees”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

If this is what I think it is, it was a wonderful way to experience the cloud forest, walking on 3 suspension bridges at the top of the trees. loved the fresh and clean air!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdventureGirl2009
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Walk in Cloudforest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

This was a cool hike on trails through the cloudforest on suspension bridges. It rained, which made it seem all the more magical - it is the rainforest!!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Santa Elena Skywalk also viewed

Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
 
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
 

Been to Santa Elena Skywalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Elena Skywalk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;