We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous views!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Up in the Cloud Forest

Up in the Cloud Forest
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Costa Rica
Improve this listing
Type: National Parks
Attraction Details
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Gorgeous views!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012 via mobile

Gorgeous place and lots of birds! Disappointed we didn't get to see more variety of animals but hey you can't make an appointment with the animals! Hah!

Overall gorgeous place, and cheap souvenirs (compared to the beach areas). If we had to do the trip again, we probably would recommend staying at Arenal longer rather than trekking down to Monteverde.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    7
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Thousand Oaks, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Magnificent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

A magical place, particularly exciting if you get to see the resplendant quetzal!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conroe
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Breath taking.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

The place is breathtaking. You could see and feel the clouds rolling in. It was absolutely amazing.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic Views from the Monteverde Cloud Forest, Costa Rica”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

I went here whilst working on a cruise ship for 6 months. We arrived at the Cloud Forest after a lengthy bus journey. We were advised to use the bathroom facilities at the resturant/gift shop before we boarded the train. The train meandered through the forest and the guide onboard pointed out lots of things of interest (birds, animals and plant life). We arrived at the train station where the first thing we saw was hummingbirds, then we were taken to a seating area for tea, coffee or hot chocolate and a piece of cake. Our guide then gave us another talk about the local area, forest and wildlife which was very informative. A short break on the viewing platform where we had amazing views of the Ariel Volcano before heading off on the optional walk. During the wlk the guide pointed out things of interest and answered all the questions the group had, the only downside was that the group was very large and they decided to split us up into 2 groups, the guide headed off with other people from our group and we were left with a young lad who didn't speak very much english (despite this he did his best to answer any of our quesions and the group seemed to have a good walk). We boarded the train again for the trip back to the resturant/ gift shop where we had a traditional costa rican lunch (chicken, fish, rice and beans and fruit juice), we were given some free time to look at the gift shop before heading back to the ship.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swift Current, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“what a nice surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

I am from Sask. Canada and what a sharp contrast to where we live. I found myself in awe at the cloud forest. Go to the top in one of the Parks and walk the bridges. Give yourself time and dont rush as there is a million things to take in. Feels like another would with moss everywhere wildlife if you really look and so on..I enjoyed it here!!!!!!!

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Up in the Cloud Forest also viewed

Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
 
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
 

Been to Up in the Cloud Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Up in the Cloud Forest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Up in the Cloud Forest to your Saves list