We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT MANY ANIMALS... NIGHT WALK EXPENSIVE...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Finca Ecologica / Ecological Farm Wild Life Refuge

Finca Ecologica / Ecological Farm Wild Life Refuge
Turnoff to Jardin Mariposas | off main road between Santa Elena and Monteverde, Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Costa Rica
2-645-58-69
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Scenic/ Historic Walking Areas
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: This 75-acre private wildlife preserve has more than 150 species of birds and 4 walking trails for scenic strolls through lush surroundings, 2 waterfalls, a impressive biodiversity.Since its a biological passway it offers an excellent opportunity to the visitors to see a big quantity of mammal and bird species of the zone.Ask for our conservation program.
Guadalajara, Mexico
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“NOT MANY ANIMALS... NIGHT WALK EXPENSIVE...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

You cant really see a lot of animals in this reserve... There were just some insects, humming birds etc.. Definitely not worth it for $20USD per person...

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    5
    3
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Allison Park, Pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Night walk not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We had several other wildlife hikes in CR that were great, so perhaps this one suffered somewhat by comparison. We didn't see much except for insects (its was quite windy that night) & didn't cover much distance. Our guide, Jonathan, did seem to be quite knowledgeable. After reading the other reviews & thinking back on our experience, I would recommend going here during the day. Obviously, we didn't see any views or waterfalls that others mentioned at night.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great night walk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012 via mobile

We had a great night walk with our guide Carlos. The 2 hour tour through the sanctuary had us seeing coati, toucanettes and a variety of hummingbirds and insects. As with most parks here a guide is essential as they are used to spotting the well camouflaged wildlife. While the walk was not a breeze, my 70 year old mother and 11 year old son had almost no issues .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Basile-le-Grand, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Maybe with a guide....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

Nice section of the forest, although pretty much the same all over. We showed up at 10 in the morning, no guide available. We spotted one mamall by ourselves, but very few birds. Maybe a guide would have helped us, but it is certainly not a farm or anything close to a place with garanteed animals sighting, it's the forest, so prepare in consequence!!!

The paths are extremely well maintained and both the map and indications in the forest are perfect.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Farm tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

Was greatly interested in organic farming so I took the Finca organic farm tour. The knowledge I got from this was more than I could handle. very informative and helpful.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Finca Ecologica / Ecological Farm Wild Life Refuge also viewed

Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
 
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
 

Been to Finca Ecologica / Ecological Farm Wild Life Refuge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Finca Ecologica / Ecological Farm Wild Life Refuge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Finca Ecologica / Ecological Farm Wild Life Refuge to your Saves list