We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“interesting and fun” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monteverde Butterfly Garden (Jardin de Mariposas)

Monteverde Butterfly Garden (Jardin de Mariposas)
Near Pension Monteverde Inn | On road to Monteverde, Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Costa Rica
2645-5512
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$135*
and up
Monteverde Cloud Forest and Butterfly Garden from...
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Monteverde Butterfly Gardens has been teaching people about the marvels of insects and arachnids for over 20 years. Our mission has always been to change the way people view these small but fantastically diverse animals. It is not hard either- with 4 different butterfly habitats housing up to 30 species of butterfly, a leaf cutter ant colony and over 20 species of live Costa Rican insects and arachnids in our nature centre we have something that will melt the heart of even the most devout bug crusher! A dedicated and passionate group of staff and volunteers will guide you on a tour through our three acre facility where you will see just some of the amazing insects and arachnids Costa Rica has to offer! The property is lush and full of other Costa Rican favourites such as capuchin monkeys and agoutis! Birders will not be disappointed with wrens galore and common visits from Keel Billed toucan, blue crowned motmot and the occasional appearance of the famed bell bird. We are open 365 days a year, so drop by whenever you can!
San Jose, Costa Rica
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“interesting and fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015 NEW

Very informative and fun too. Everyone is friendly, helpful and the scientific knowledge is in depth.

Visited February 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    60
    17
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“More than butterflies! Incredible!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2015

The butterflies were plentiful, gorgeous and quite "friendly". It was a real delight to walk through the various butterfly domes and hear all about them from David.

Just as great was the introduction to insects by his wife, an environmental anthropologist. She was so knowledgelable and very, very funny! The insects were passed around accompanied by hysterical stories of their lives...how they mate, survuve and thrive!

A not to be missed visit!

Visited February 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“"Now that's cool”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2015 via mobile

Going off the catch phrase for our dreadlocked teacher at this excursion "Now that's cool" is probably the best way to describe this butterfly garden. You start off in a classroom learning about a variety of insects and butterflies. Some of the things you learn really do blow your mind, it is wonderful how versatile some insects are. They also have a lot of insects and spiders in the class room which they show you as they explain the fun facts.

You then go into a variety of different butterfly gardens where the guide explains about the different butterflies. Each garden is a different environment and you learn the difference between how each butterfly has adapted to suit that environment.

The whole experience was fantastic and I would highly recommend it, they were also excellent with the small kids on the tour with us. My lovely girlfriend dragged me to this place and I have to say I walked away thoroughly enjoying the experience!

Thank you for reading my review!

Mr. Lorenzo

Visited March 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Viejo de Sarapiqui, Costa Rica
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Close and personal with butterflies and nature”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2015

If you want to see and photograph butterflies up close this is a wonderful place to do it. The guided walks and introduction is hands-on, informative, and eye-opening. The butterfly houses are well maintained, although thanks to the constant humidity they look a bit overgrown with mosses and lichens. To me, this adds to the natural feel of the place. Nice little shop to end your visit, and you have a great couple of hours experience. The new owners, a young and eager couple, will make your visit special. And you will be supporting conservation and education of local children. Worth every penny!

Visited December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pointe Claire, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lots of butterflies and a great guide”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2015 via mobile

Had fun at the butterfly garden with our 2 girls ages 7 & 9. The guide made the tour really interesting especially for the kids. I would highly recommend it!

Visited March 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monteverde Butterfly Garden (Jardin de Mariposas) also viewed

Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
 
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Monteverde Butterfly Garden (Jardin de Mariposas)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monteverde Butterfly Garden (Jardin de Mariposas), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.