We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem of Monteverde!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monteverde Butterfly Garden (Jardin de Mariposas)

Monteverde Butterfly Garden (Jardin de Mariposas)
Near Pension Monteverde Inn | On road to Monteverde, Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Costa Rica
2645-5512
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Gardens
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The Monteverde Butterfly Gardens has been teaching people about the marvels of insects and arachnids for over 20 years. Our mission has always been to change the way people view these small but fantastically diverse animals. It is not hard either- with 4 different butterfly habitats housing up to 30 species of butterfly, a leaf cutter ant colony and over 20 species of live Costa Rican insects and arachnids in our nature centre we have something that will melt the heart of even the most devout bug crusher! A dedicated and passionate group of staff and volunteers will guide you on a tour through our three acre facility where you will see just some of the amazing insects and arachnids Costa Rica has to offer! The property is lush and full of other Costa Rican favourites such as capuchin monkeys and agoutis! Birders will not be disappointed with wrens galore and common visits from Keel Billed toucan, blue crowned motmot and the occasional appearance of the famed bell bird. We are open 365 days a year, so drop by whenever you can!
Katoomba, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A hidden gem of Monteverde!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

This place is great!! Was a great sunny day and all the butterflies were about. We walked through the gardens first, the guide pointing out butterflies and plants and explaining about each type. I was able to release a butterfly into the garden which was great! They also have a great classroom style part of the tour where you are able to get up close and personal with bugs and insects, again the guide was clearly passionate about the little creatures and was a great aspect of the tour! I really enjoyed this place and after the tour I was able to wander around again for photos and extra enjoyment! A real gem and truly recommended!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    49
    13
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Very intersting tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The tour takes about 1 & 1/2 hours and covers a lot more than "just" butterflies. You'll get to see intersting bugs and spiders and with luck you'll spot some monkeys in the gardens. The female tour guide was very competent and willing to answer questions. My absoulte favourite were the bugs and spiders at the beginning of the tour.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

The guide knew so much! We got a very in-depth explanation about all the different bugs and butterflies in the area, complete with living examples. We also got to release two butterflies into the habitat (they raise butterflies rather than capture them for their gardens). We learned more on this tour than just about anywhere else we went. Our guide was friendly and extremely knowledgeable. By the way - the guides are all volunteers so consider tipping if you can.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Worth the visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

The tour is well conducted. Butterflies everywhere. Bring a good camera and preferably a telescopic lens as the best shots are not the ones at the end of your nose.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Great Find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

i have never been that into bugs so i wasn't expecting myself to enjoy this, however, this was one of my highlights while in monteverde! it was so interesting! it was both fun and informative. the lay out of the garden is set up very well. there are are different butterfly rooms for each elevation demonstrating many of costa ricas butterflies. there was also an amazing insect exhibit which is not to be missed. they had the same type of spider that professor moody uses in the fourth harry potter!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monteverde Butterfly Garden (Jardin de Mariposas) also viewed

Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
 
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
 

Been to Monteverde Butterfly Garden (Jardin de Mariposas)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monteverde Butterfly Garden (Jardin de Mariposas), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.