We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Monteverde Butterfly Garden (Jardin de Mariposas)
Near Pension Monteverde Inn | On road to Monteverde, Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Costa Rica
2645-5512
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$135*
and up
Monteverde Cloud Forest and Butterfly Garden from...
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Monteverde Butterfly Gardens has been teaching people about the marvels of insects and arachnids for over 20 years. Our mission has always been to change the way people view these small but fantastically diverse animals. It is not hard either- with 4 different butterfly habitats housing up to 30 species of butterfly, a leaf cutter ant colony and over 20 species of live Costa Rican insects and arachnids in our nature centre we have something that will melt the heart of even the most devout bug crusher! A dedicated and passionate group of staff and volunteers will guide you on a tour through our three acre facility where you will see just some of the amazing insects and arachnids Costa Rica has to offer! The property is lush and full of other Costa Rican favourites such as capuchin monkeys and agoutis! Birders will not be disappointed with wrens galore and common visits from Keel Billed toucan, blue crowned motmot and the occasional appearance of the famed bell bird. We are open 365 days a year, so drop by whenever you can!
alaska
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Beautiful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

The butterflies there were beautiful and it was very interesting to visit the displays of their stages of life. I would want to see more butterflies flying around, but there were enought, just always wish for more as they are just so beautiful to see flying around.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    60
    17
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Hope, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Thoroughly enjoyed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

This is a great place to visit and I would highly recommend it. A short pleasant walk from the centre of town (past a great ice cream shop) to a peaceful tour of butterflies and gardens.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brick, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Check it Out!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Fabulous place to volunteer and learn all about the butterflies and other critters of Costa Rica! The four gardens allow you to see all types of butterflies and the nature centre give you a chance to check out scorpions, tarantulas and so much more

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
2 reviews
“A must-visit in Monteverde!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I visited the Monteverde Butterfly Gardens on a recent trip to Costa Rica, and was thoroughly impressed! Their guides (all international volunteers) are incredible - their passion for teaching about nature made the experience such a joy. The place was well-kept and we saw some gorgeous butterflies. The insectarium was excellent, and we learned tons about tarantulas, scorpions, cockroaches, giant beetles and various other Costa Rican insects.

The butterfly gardens are a little off the beaten path, but that makes them all the more appealing. The netted gardens are right in the forest and the view from the reception area is spectacular. This is smaller operation than some that I have seen, but the atmosphere is so personable and friendly it is second to none. A definite must for those traveling through Monteverde!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester, NY
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“We do not recommend this place”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We initiated a visit and the female guide was banging the walls of the enclosure to get butterflies to move, we felt terrible at how aggressive and the lack of respect she had for nature. The butterfly exhibit at Selvatura was excellent so were their guides.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monteverde Butterfly Garden (Jardin de Mariposas) also viewed

Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
 
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Monteverde Butterfly Garden (Jardin de Mariposas)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monteverde Butterfly Garden (Jardin de Mariposas), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.