We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monteverde Cloud Forest Biological Reserve

Monteverde Cloud Forest Biological Reserve
35 km (22 mi) southeast of Tilaran | 167 km (104 mi) northwest of San Jose, Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve 55-5655, Costa Rica
2645-5123
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas
Attraction Details
usa, nj
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Great place to visit - the flora is amazing! It was drizzling and good thing we had our rain jackets. Our daughter didn't bring any, so bought her the poncho there ($10). Did a walk on hanging bridges with the guide, was worth it. Great experience and the bird view from the bridges is stunning. Felt like you are flying in the clouds, between the trees. Went for a cup of coffee and dessert to the cafe - good prices, but service was very slow. Had to remind them about the hot chocolate for the little one, but I guess they are just busy. Anyway it was no spoiler. Very enjoyable and the air was so breathable!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

876 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    583
    212
    58
    16
    7
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Rain forest”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Enjoyed this slice of Costa Rica. Great introduction to the rain forest. Loads of interesting plants to see. We saw monkeys and interesting birds. I advise hiring a local guide. You will get a crash course on the sights/sounds of the forest. Guides also are experienced in spotting animal life that you may likely walk past. You can always stay in the park on your own once the guided hike is finished. Book through your hotel or you can book last minute in the park. By booking at the hotel, you also have transportation option.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Must be visited”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

If you are in Costa Rica this is a must in your list. The Rainforest reserve is well keep and preserves a lot of life.

My girlfriend and I went on March, and we enjoyed the hiking and being admired by the stunning vegetation.

The reserve is so surreal and fantastic that it has to be visited if you are in Costa Rica.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Region Metropolitana, Chile
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great birdwatching spot. Beautiful primary forest.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Hiking through the Monteverde Cloud Forest Biological reserve is a morning well spent. We were able to see a couple of the mystical Quetzales, tucans, coatis, and a few other animals, though mostly birds. Very nice, but getting the guided tour might be well worth the extra expense, specially because trained guides can spot a number of the birds that we would have otherwise missed.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Bird Watching”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We hiked the reserve for three hours with our very energetic guide, Carlos. Many of the people in our group were less interested in his wildlife sightings and so lagged far behind. Carlos was able to find five different Quetzals, which alone would have made the day a success. However, we spotted dozens of other birds including trogons and toucanets. The cloud forest is beautiful and would be a great hike even without the wildlife. Worth noting is that there was hardly a cloud in the sky for our day in the cloud forest…

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monteverde Cloud Forest Biological Reserve also viewed

Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
 
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
 

Been to Monteverde Cloud Forest Biological Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monteverde Cloud Forest Biological Reserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Monteverde Cloud Forest Biological Reserve to your Saves list