We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weird Nature Guide, Beautiful Surroundings” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Monteverde Cloud Forest Biological Reserve

Monteverde Cloud Forest Biological Reserve
35 km (22 mi) southeast of Tilaran | 167 km (104 mi) northwest of San Jose, Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve 55-5655, Costa Rica
2645-5123
Website
Update attraction details
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas
Attraction Details
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Weird Nature Guide, Beautiful Surroundings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

The reserve is amazing and it's absolutely worth spending time there. We booked a tour through the reserve itself, which was supposed to leave at 7:30 bit didn't leave until almost 8 am because other tourists in the group arrived so late. That was frustrating, and then our guide was rather awkward. He shaped the whole tour as if it was a class session, asking US all the questions about the cloud forest and its flora and fauna. Obviously we were there to have him share his knowledge with us -- not make us guess for answers! -- so it wasn't as informative as it could be. Might be worth booking a tour with a private guide to get more out of this very special place.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

787 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    522
    194
    48
    16
    7
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“a must see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Simply beautiful. Words can't describe the beauty - you have to see it for yourself, experience it. Bring binoculars to see all all the varieties of wildlife especially the birds. Don't miss the hummingbird garden.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Wish I had spent more time here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

First and Second groth forest, in the clouds. I only got to cover a very small portion of the reserve due to scheduling. in around 3 hours picked up ~15 Life Birds. Whish I had more time. George, our guide was patient with an old man who pushed a desk instead of a trecking stick.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fulfilling”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

My 12 year old son and I signed up for the early morning birding tour, this was well worth it! Our guide was incredibly knowledgeable, and we learned and saw so much! 6 hours of somebody talking to us and showing us the bird life - incredible. The forest itself is, of course, incredible also, and well worth a visit even without the bird tour, especially if you're not so enthusiastic about birds that you would get up to start a tour at 6:00 a.m......

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

I did this walk and had practically the whole place to myself! I timed it along the skywalks so I wasn't close to any tour groups. It was so peaceful. I didn't see a lot of animals though. My friends did the night walk and saw loads of wildlife so maybe that's a better option. Great anyway. Bring a raincoat because it gets chilly!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monteverde Cloud Forest Biological Reserve also viewed

Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
 
Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
 

Been to Monteverde Cloud Forest Biological Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monteverde Cloud Forest Biological Reserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.