We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a forest in the clouds that one day might be extinct” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Monteverde Cloud Forest Biological Reserve

Monteverde Cloud Forest Biological Reserve
35 km (22 mi) southeast of Tilaran | 167 km (104 mi) northwest of San Jose, Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve 55-5655, Costa Rica
2645-5123
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$135*
and up
Monteverde Cloud Forest and Butterfly Garden from...
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
NY
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Just a forest in the clouds that one day might be extinct”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I could do only one thing in Monteverde and chose to go to the cloud forest over Extremo bungee jumping. Although, I'm sure bungee would be more exciting I did enjoy the hike through the forest. We arrived late so did the short two hour hike. We saw few birds and rat/pig like animal (don't remember the name) crossed our road. Once we got higher all we saw was strange vegetation that grows in the cloud forest. It became very cold very quickly, but it was nice to experience. Next to reserve is a garden with so many hummingbirds that seeing them was worth the trip. The cloud forest might not exist in the future due to global warming so it was good to experience it.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,316 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    857
    319
    96
    35
    9
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“In the Clouds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

This was a great hike that offered many different trails based on difficultly and duration. We picked at trail designated to last around 2 hours and finished in less than 90 minutes. The trails were muddy and we left soaked, but really enjoyed it! Although from the top you could feel the clouds zooming past you, the day we went was pretty overcast and you couldn't see out at all. I'm sure when the sun is out, it's even better.

Enjoy!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“So much wildlife”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We had a knowledgeable and friendly guide who showed us and taught us about a wide variety of wildlife, including the trees, flowers, birds, snakes, beetles, frogs, and other insects. Be prepared for rain at any time.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nature at is best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Like: great learning opportunity and good nature hike (i have been there twice). Dislike: well, bird/animal watching is a luck game, and i was lucky once and unlucky in another time.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Went for a 6-hour hike. It was very pretty and very peaceful. We saw monkeys, the quetzal and some beautiful birds. We didn't hire a guide but hiring one would probably let you see more wildlife and learn more about them. I recommend spending some time at this beautiful cloud forest.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monteverde Cloud Forest Biological Reserve also viewed

Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
 

Been to Monteverde Cloud Forest Biological Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monteverde Cloud Forest Biological Reserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.