We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“scenery and trails” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monteverde Cloud Forest Biological Reserve

Monteverde Cloud Forest Biological Reserve
35 km (22 mi) southeast of Tilaran | 167 km (104 mi) northwest of San Jose, Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve 55-5655, Costa Rica
2645-5123
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$1,259*
and up
11-Day Tour from San Jose: Monteverde Cloud...
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Outdoors
Attraction details
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“scenery and trails”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We did a guided tour in the morning and then hiked around by ourselves. The guide was good to point out plants and animals we wouldn't have otherwise seen like the quetzal bird. The trail we went down with him was pretty tame. Then we walked one of the other trails ourselves that went through a hanging bridge and brought to a few different viewpoints. The highest viewpoint was really neat since it was clear we were literally in a cloud. The other trails had more ups and downs so were a little more active. Since we went when it was raining it wasn't overly crowded, and the second trails we did we barely saw any other people. Definitely bring a poncho or raincoat and warm clothes and waterproof shoes.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

997 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    664
    236
    68
    21
    8
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
miami
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Great place to see wonderful pictures. The guide we had was very knowledgeable. We saw howlers and exotic birds and snakes.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

This was a great adventure. We saw howler monkeys, quetzals (rare, bright green birds) and learned so much about the landscape and animals. The guy was fun and informative. I highly recommend.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful hike”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

While we didn't get to see a Resplendent Quetzal (others did so they ARE there!), we enjoyed the hike, the waterfall, the other birds, and even the Glass-winged Butterfly we discovered.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Rare and wonderful visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

Wonderful day wildlife watching, our guide was absolutely brilliant and managed to spot 4 quetzals (endangered species). We played with hummingbirds and got a great education into ecosystems and how the cloud forest works. Wonderful morning! The early bird gets the worm.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monteverde Cloud Forest Biological Reserve also viewed

Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
 
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
 

Been to Monteverde Cloud Forest Biological Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monteverde Cloud Forest Biological Reserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.