We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Georgeous property” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Monteverde Lodge & Gardens

Save Saved
You added Monteverde Lodge & Gardens to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
3.5 of 5 Lodge   |   Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve 6941-1000, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free
cocoa beach
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Georgeous property”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2009

We arrived a few hours early but had no problem getting our room , it was Sept . We had just finished riding horses part of the way from Arenal so the huge hot tub was very welcoming . Being tucked in away from the road made our stay quiet and restful . The garden was very well done and we enjoyed relaxing there in the evening . The staff was very friendly and accomadating . The interior af the lodge was also relaxing with a nice fire in the evenings during dinner . The Mango margaritas were quite tasty . The food was less tha award winning , but we had already discovered that getting a good meal in Costa Rica was a challange . We had the pork tenderloin for supper , it was obviously baked another day and seemed to have been "warmed up " on a griddle . I would reccomend the Monteverde lodge for those that would wish a warm relaxing place to stay . Our room was nicely done , with only one major problem . The rooms do not have A/C , which is fine as they are not realy need , but they also do not have ceiling fans which makes them a bit stuffy . The windows that open are small . Grab a towell from the spa to use as they are thick and soft where the towells in the room are somewhat akin to sand paper . Overall a very nice place , I would stay there again but I would get a fan from housekeeping ( as we did ) and I would eat elsewhere . The food might be fresher when more people are the . There was only 2 other rooms occupied when we were there .

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    287
    136
    32
    10
    5
See reviews for
142
238
8
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2009

We stayed at Monteverde Lodge for 2 nights in May 2009 on our honeymoon. We just stayed in the basic room, but felt that it was quite modern with an amazing view of the forest and clouds rolling by right outside the window. The view made you feel like you were in the middle of the forest. We did find a scorpion in our room, but it was not a problem since my brave husband just scooped it into a cup and took it outside. In the defense of the hotel, I have no idea how it got into our room since it seemed to be sealed tight. The staff also offered to come remove it from our room. The lodge is in the middle of the forest, things like this happen!

The staff was always very nice, asking us how our day was when we arrived back at the hotel.

I strongly recommend signing up for the Monteverde Reserve tour through the hotel. The guide who does the tours for the lodge is amazing and very nice. He has a lot of experience and can spot creatures so easily, it's like he lives in the forest.

The restaurant was great as well. It didn't seem too overpriced and had a romantic candlelit ambiance for dinner. We also had lunch at the hotel, which was simple yet sufficient. The hotel offers free coffee and snacks in the evening in their bar area, which is very cozy. There is a fire and they have board games and cards. The large jacuzzi is relaxing with a feeling of the outdoors since you're surrounded by windows. The gardens are also very beautiful with several short hiking trails and places to sit and relax.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alajuela, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2009

The hotel was easy to find and is located outside the little town of Santa Elena, which already is a big plus since Santa Elena is completely wasted by tourism.

The staff was incredible friendly. We arrived at 10am and could enter our room without any extra charges. When we left the next day and we asked if we could leave our suitcases with the hotel they offered us to keep the room until the end of the afternoon, again without any charge.

The room was clean, had enough space, a nice view and was very quiet. The curtains are neccesary 'though when you want privacy when you sit in front of the window since the other guests can look inside pretty easy.

My wife and I had lunch there which was great. The staff was all very friendly and the lunch arrived within minutes. The food was good and hot and the cocktail tasted great. The used fresh fruit.

The dinner was something completely special. They somehow found out that it was my birthday and they prepared a special and private dinner for my wife and me in the library. It was very romantic.

The hotel has a big jacuzzi which is very nice.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2009

Similar to another guest's review, we were very disappointed when we arrived at the Monteverde Lodge from Arenal. To be totally frank, the rooms are awful. My girlfriend walked out of the bathroom and promptly said, "this is gross." The fixtures, furniture, linens, etc. are very outdated and dingy. Further, my girlfriend was very unnerved to find that there was a sliding plastic window in the bathroom that opened to the public hallway and could not be locked. We raised this issue to the manager and were told that all of the rooms were like that and they had never had an issue with security. That was less than reassuring. The hotel is run by a big company, Costa Rica Expeditions, and they would only offer us a one night refund at that point. We promptly booked the 2nd night at El Establo, which is the closest thing you'll get to a nice hotel in Monteverde. That being said, this is probably the nicest eco lodge in the area if that's what you are looking for, but totally overpriced for what it is. Put it this way - we stayed at the luxurious Tabacon hotel in Arenal for LESS than this hotel which was $190 per night. A few positive notes - the staff was extremely nice and apologetic about our disappointment and very helpful booking activities even when they knew we would only be staying the one night. Also, the evening fire was nice and the lunch we had at the hotel restaurant was delicious. We were just expecting more coming from Tabacon and given the price tag.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2009

This place is GORGEOUS! It is also so peaceful and relaxing, I really wish I could have spent more time just relaxing at the hotel.

The food was excellent and not overly priced. The location was perfect. The tourguide, Carlos, was excellent and guided us to a toucan right there on the grounds, some quetzals, and a beautiful hike through the cloud forest. We loved watching the birds and hummingbirds from the restaurant.

Rooms were great but ours was hot. The windows only opened only a tiny bit and there was no ceiling fan. Made it difficult to sleep comfortably and, hence, only 4 "stars" for rooms.

Was disappointed in the service a little. Lodge restaurant servers were unfriendly and acted appalled that we showed up for dinner without a reservation. They should be thankful that we did since they apparently didn't even fill 1/4 of the tables that evening. There was also no children's menu. Our kids ended up having to order adult items of the menu for $$$ and, of course, didn't like the adult flavor of the food. The lady who checked us in first offered to help us book tours and then, when I asked her to help me book one, she shoved the brochure at me and circled the phone number and told me either I could call them from my room or she could call them and then hand me the phone to talk to them. Hmmm... Then she got back on facebook. Odd. Anyway, only 3 stars for service for those reasons.

So glad we stayed here for the beautiful surroundings and would absolutely return.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2009

We thoroughly enjoyed the beautiful grounds of this peaceful rustic retreat. The room we stayed in had 3 beds and was very nicely done, clean and had a natural feel to it which blended well with the surroundings. The window from our 2nd floor room overlooking the cloud forest was a wonderful place to spot wildlife. We saw flocks of parrots fly through from there. Watching the clouds sweep across the treetops was mesmerizing and very relaxing. We saw a hawk from our window and hurried outside for a photograph and in the process saw a pizote and a sloth - all in about a 5 minute period of time. It was very exciting.

Our activities at Monteverde Lodge were coordinated through Costa Rica Expeditions, a company I highly recommend. We had a naturalist guide, William, to lead us and Carlos, our driver, to shuttle us to our various destinations. The highlight was the walk through the Monteverde Cloud Forest. Before we even entered, our guide William had spotted white-faced Capuchin monkeys. We saw several groups just walking through the Cloud Forest that day and they were always curious to know what we were looking at which made us feel like having a guide was one of the best investments we made. Thanks to our guide, we maximized the value of our time and saw many things that we probably would not have spotted otherwise due to their excellent camouflage techniques. William also carried a scope which was wonderful for getting close-up views of the wildlife or interesting plant life. We later saw a Mot Mot bird, a porcupine and a Quetzal - a wonderful surprise. As mentioned in other reviews, the Hummingbird Gallery outside the entrance to the Monteverde Cloud Forest is not to be missed. We saw many gorgeous hummingbirds there and got some amazing photos. It's the perfect place to get a hot chocolate. We also enjoyed the Bat Jungle and the Butterfly Garden.

Upon returning to Monteverde Lodge, there were many ways to relax. The jacuzzi was very nice and the food was very good. The service in the hotel was outstanding. The gardens were very nicely done with some very interesting plants. We saw some beautiful birds and other animals there. My husband and I spent time on the swing overlooking the pond and thought it was the perfect way to "wind down" after each day of adventure.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2009

We loved this place! Monteverde Lodge leaves nothing to be desired in our opinion. Our standard room was roomy, clean, quiet, and comfortable. There was soap, shampoo, and conditioner provided. The large windows are great for viewing wildlife. The lodge is built on a hill and our room was at the lowest level. I am sure the higher your room is the more wildlife you will see.

The food is very good and the service was excellent. One side of the restaurant is all windows. The gardens of the lodge are spectacular. Take time just to walk around them. We saw a gorgeous bird called a Mot Mot in the gardens. Often guests see Coatimundis and Agoutis. And an occasional pack of monkeys will swing through. You might be lucky enough to see wildlife from the restaurant windows as well.

We went on the Cloud Forest Tour and it is a tour you should not miss. Our guide was very knowledgeable. If it wasn’t for a guide we would not have seen the Resplendent Quetzal. The guide had a spotting scope so we could get a close up view of this flamboyantly colored bird. Some people were able to take photos through the spotting scope, but alas our camera wouldn’t cooperate. People come from all over the world to see this bird, and never see it. We were very, very lucky!

Go to the little cafe outside the entrance to the Cloud Forest. It is up a short flight of stairs. They put out hummingbird feeders and the hummingbirds will fly right past like little fighter jets. And a small mammal called an Olingos comes over and drinks the sugar water too (see photo) it was hilarious. We also saw Coatimundis.

We went to the Butterfly Garden (I think it was called). It was really a fascinating tour. There is a short talk with show and tell. You get to see several truly unusual looking insects, and hear cringe inducing stories about their life cycles and hosts. The highlight is each person on the tour is given a newly hatched butterfly in a container to release in the appropriate screened in habitat. I released a Blue Morpho and my husband released a Monarch Butterfly. I did not expect it but this tour was probably one of the highlights of our entire trip in Costa Rica!

We were surprised at what a thriving metropolis Monteverde is. We expected it to be isolated. There are hotels, restaurants, and houses all over. And many different activities like the Butterfly Garden. We only had two nights here and we wish we had scheduled three nights.

If you have any questions please feel free to send me a message.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Monteverde Lodge & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monteverde Lodge & Gardens

Address: Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve 6941-1000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Specialty lodging in Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Monteverde Lodge & Gardens 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at 4,600 ft. above sea level on the edge of the world's best-known mid-elevation cloud forest, Monteverde Lodge is the expression of Costa Rica Expeditions' desire to create the ultimate lodging experience for the discerning nature traveler. Monteverde Lodge offers two room types: Forest View Downstairs Rooms and Upstairs Balcony Rooms. Forest View Balcony Rooms have two double beds and double doors leading out to your own private balcony, where two wicker chairs and a coffee table encourage you to sit and watch for life in the cloud forest. Forest View Downstairs Rooms also offer two double beds. These rooms have corner bay windows with the same seating arrangement as the upstairs balconies. This alcove is designed to put you in the forest while still within your room. Both upstairs and downstairs rooms have glass enclosed showers, solar heated hot water, in-room safe, hot water, coffee maker, alarm clock, ceiling fan, reading lamps, hair dryer and laundry bag. All rooms have free wireless internet. The main entry of Monteverde Lodge includes a glass cathedral entry, high wooden ceilings, an open fireplace, restaurant, bar, and 15-person hot tub. There are comfortable sofas in the bar, reading room and on the garden terrace. There is a computer room with three computers for guest use and wireless connection throughout the public areas of the hotel. The landscaping is designed to bring the flora and fauna of the cloud forest to the doorstep of the hotel. Plan on spending a morning or afternoon to wander in the 15 year old garden that includes Imperial Bromeliads, Costa Rica’s national flower the Guarianthe skinneri orchid and hedges of Blue porter weed and Lantana where butterflies feed. Location: after passing World of Insects on the left, take the right fork in the road, 500 meters to the entrance of the lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Monteverde Lodge & Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens Hotel Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve
Monteverde Lodge And Gardens
Monteverde Hotel Gardens
Gardens Hotel Monteverde
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens Costa Rica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monteverde Lodge & Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.