We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunningly beautiful hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monteverde Lodge & Gardens

Save Saved
You added Monteverde Lodge & Gardens to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
3.5 of 5 Lodge   |   Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve 6941-1000, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Stunningly beautiful hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is the best I have ever stayed in. We had a top-floor room with a balcony overlooking the cloud-forest and the view was breath-taking. I could have spent all day there! In the gardens, trails and nearby forest we saw an incredible number of birds, an agouti, coatis and heard several monkeys. Every detail is lovely in the hotel - snacks at 5pm, a choice of breakfasts with a toast and fruit salad starter, coffee machines in the room, open fire in the bar etc etc. The restaurant food is also exceptional - especially the roasted stuffed veg and the pastas. And the staff are all so friendly and happy - Jeffrey and Mariano in the bar, Cindy on reception - it makes it a real pleasure to talk to them and nothing is too much trouble. Thank you all for three of the most memorable days of my life!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie E, Guest Relations Manager at Monteverde Lodge & Gardens, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear HesterPlumridge,

We are very grateful for the lovely review you gave our hotel, and thrilled to hear that we are the best hotel you ever stayed in. That’s great you enjoyed the view and got to see so much wildlife. It´s exciting you heard monkeys, but I´m not surprised you didn’t see one in Monteverde.
Someday I hope you visit us at our other hotel, Tortuga Lodge & Gardens, on the Caribbean: there you will almost certainly see monkeys, and have a good chance at viewing three different species. You can find that lodge on Trip Advisor as well.

I passed your comments about the dishes you enjoyed on to our Executive Chef, Federico Barrantes. He was thrilled to see your feedback and told me a little about where he learned to cook pastas:

When Federico was 25, a friend´s mother, who was Italian, opened a restaurant serving the food of her home country. Federico went to ask for work helping in the kitchen, hoping to add to his chef’s repertoire. She had no problem hiring him, probably because he wasn´t asking to be paid! Thus started Federico´s training in Italian cooking; he says that there he learned how to pick a good tomato, to treat gnocchi with tenderness, and other secrets of Italian foods like the delicate use of finely cut chili.

He augmented this knowledge with an Argentinean friend, who taught him new varieties and techniques from a country whose passion for pasta is rivaled only by Italy.

I like these stories because they exemplify what we love about Federico; the eclectic mix of cooking knowledge he brings to his work, and his skill at passing that passion and knowledge on to our local chefs. His family history, his travels, and his passion for food have allowed him to accumulate recipes and techniques from all different traditions, and incorporated them into his mission to improve upon, experiment with but never depart from his Costa Rican culinary roots.

We hope you come back and see us again.

Sincerely,

Natalie Ewing
Chief Marketing & Guest Satisfaction Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    287
    136
    32
    10
    5
See reviews for
142
238
8
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quebec City, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We stayed there early May 2013 for two nights for our honeymoon in CR. The staff was friendly and helpfull. Rooms were clean but could be better soundproof, as we heard other guests walking in the corridor at night.

Compared to other hotels we've visited in CR, the included breakfest was tastefull and generous. That was a big plus!

The hotel is well situated for most activities (we had a 4*4).

I would definitely go back there with my wife.

Patrick & Michelle

Room Tip: Ask for a 2nd floor room with view on the forest. Very quiet rooms! You'll feel in your own jung...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie E, Guest Relations Manager at Monteverde Lodge & Gardens, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Patrick D,

Thank you for your comment about Monteverde Lodge & Gardens, we are very pleased to have hosted you and your wife on your honeymoon, and more so that you enjoyed it.

I was glad to read that you enjoyed the breakfasts. We do our best to provide a complimentary breakfast that is hearty and well above the norm. We want people to leave the breakfast table well fueled for exploring the cloud forests! My favorite breakfast is the traditional; rice and beans with eggs (I do over easy) and plantains, laced throughout with fresh tropical fruit, homemade bread and a rich cup of Costa Rican coffee!

I see you wrote that you were able to hear other guests walking in the corridor outside of your room. You are right that the rooms aren't quite as soundproof as they could be. We built the lodge in 1991, and at the time it was one of only three hotels in the area with private bathrooms! The rooms were built with an older style of construction, and the walls are made of thinner material, so occasionally people tell us that the sounds from the hallway drift in.

Congratulations on your marriage! We would love to have you two come back in the future.

Sincerely,

Natalie Ewing
Chief Marketing & Guest Satisfaction Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here last weekend! I wanted to show my daughter the cloud forest. We love every thing! Rooms were beautiful and cozy. They had a crib for my toddler ready (I just happened to briefly mention that I had a one and a half year old).
Meals were delicious! The waiters were super accommodating with our kids, specially Gerard. Who actually took the time to show us a sloth in a nearby tree. The Monteverde Private Reserve was great: Elbert the guide was super entertaining. My 5 year old daughter couldn't get enough of it! We had a great time!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Nestled into a wildlife preserve and having its own tropical garden this should have been the highlight of our Costa Rican trip. When we checked in we said we wanted to arrange a coffee plantation tour for the next afternoon. The front desk booked that for us at the same price as buying it direct from the plantation. Good so far. Then they suggested we change one of our tours and we agreed. Since the cost was $10 less we expected they would credit us. They couldn't do that because it was a different part of the company that made that arrangement. Really? Then, each afternoon they would call insisting that we make reservations for dining. Since there were never less than 8 open tables on the three nights we ate there this just wound up being petty harassment. Finally, we were over billed when we checked out and it took 30 minutes to convince the young lady that we should only pay for the charges we signed off on. The way the bill was presented it didn't list our five charges item by item but rather split them into food, beverage, tip and tax leaving up to us to do the math and figure out that we were being overcharged. The plumbing was suspect with toilet flushing requiring skill to know just how long to hold down the handle. The goldilocks shower was either too hot or too cold and only occasionally just right. Other than the front desk staff we enjoyed the staff at the lodge and found our stay to be just short of really good.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie E, Guest Relations Manager at Monteverde Lodge & Gardens, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear tomlanin,

Thank you for your review of Monteverde Lodge & Gardens. Your feedback led us to a series of problems at our front desk that with one exception had gone unnoticed.

I am especially embarrassed that you were bothered with requests for dinner reservations because we had a previous guest send feedback about this (April 16th review by relaxTaxi) and I thought we had gotten that fixed, evidently we have not.

The first time this came up I sent an email asking the lodge to discontinue the practice. I then got distracted with another project, didn’t monitor it and here is the result. I’m very sorry!

As far as the $10 difference in the tours that you did, I have asked our accounting department to credit the difference to your card. I agree with you, this should have been taken care of onsite with no hassle to you regardless of what our internal accounting requires.

You mentioned that when checking out your bill was not itemized and that you had been overcharged. Francine, the receptionist that checked you out says that because our software does not allow an itemized bill, she offered you the individual meal tickets for your review before charging you. The reason she offered you the meal tickets is that there were two that had not been signed and she wanted to make sure that they were yours. When you pointed out that those two were in fact not yours, she did not question you and billed you the correct amount.

In reviewing your feedback with Diego Blanco, our GM for lodges, we have come to the conclusion that most of the problems that you encountered could have been avoided if we had given you a proper welcome briefing. This consists of sitting down with guests on arrival and explaining how things work at the lodge. What is discussed, among other things, is how to regulate the temperature of the water in the shower, fine tuning of scheduling for tours, what wildlife sightings our guides have had recently and to ask how we might provide a more enjoyable stay. Diego is scheduled to travel to Monteverde very soon and in addition to going over each of the concerns with the different departments he will be looking at reinstating the procedure of a welcome orientation briefing.

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the rest of our staff at Monteverde Lodge and hope that you enjoyed your stay in the Monteverde region. If you ever return to Costa Rica please let me know, we’d like to have the opportunity to make it up to you.

Sincerely,
Natalie Ewing
Chief Marketing & Guest Satisfaction Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We just returned and loved it so much we are already planning when we can return. Everything exceeded our expectations - the hotel, the staff and especially the beautiful animals, flora and fauna. It's definitely a place to escape from the world....our biggest conversation was which bird did we just see and which frozen fruit drink should we order next. No TV, no radio, no newspapers but very good internet. Note this is a nature-oriented lodge and not the Four Seasons.

The view from our balcony was great and we spent hours sitting out there and reading and watching the coatimundi running around the grounds.

Everything was very clean and we ate/drank everything....the fresh fruits are spectacular. We were in CR 8 days and never took any of the 'stomach distress' pills we brought! We did get the recommended Hep A/Hep B shot which isn't bad to have in general...

The Costa Ricans understand the beauty and biodiversity of their country and protect it.
They also appreciate the tourists coming to visit and you can feel it everywhere....they cannot do enough for you. A lot of pride in their country.

Room Tip: Select a second floor room with balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We LOVE our stay at the lodge. Our room was on the 2nd floor among the canopies. Very quiet. The best part of the hotel is the staff - very attentive, always smiling, and made sure we are happy. Food was very good. We didn't need to go somewhere else for breakfast, lunch, or dinner. On our last night, the restaurant surprised us with a very romantic dinner outdoors under the trellis with candles lighting the path to the table, and a personal wait staff! VERY, VERY romantic! We were truly impressed which is quite difficult to accomplish since my husband and I traveled the world and have stayed in pretty nice places.

There plenty of activities to choose from. But relaxing and walking the gardens are good options as well.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 2nd floor give you the feeling of sleeping among tree tops.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

This was a great hotel. I stayed here for 2 nights in May 2012. A late review but better late than never! I wish I would have stayed longer at the hotel and I would definitely go back. Rooms were clean, the staff was AMAZING and really made the trip. Our favorites were Mariano and Gerald. They took time out of the day to show us when a difficult to spot sloth was nearby. They were extremely helpful. I definitely felt like I was right there in nature. It was a very peaceful as well as fun experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Monteverde Lodge & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monteverde Lodge & Gardens

Address: Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve 6941-1000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Specialty lodging in Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Monteverde Lodge & Gardens 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at 4,600 ft. above sea level on the edge of the world's best-known mid-elevation cloud forest, Monteverde Lodge is the expression of Costa Rica Expeditions' desire to create the ultimate lodging experience for the discerning nature traveler. Monteverde Lodge offers two room types: Forest View Downstairs Rooms and Upstairs Balcony Rooms. Forest View Balcony Rooms have two double beds and double doors leading out to your own private balcony, where two wicker chairs and a coffee table encourage you to sit and watch for life in the cloud forest. Forest View Downstairs Rooms also offer two double beds. These rooms have corner bay windows with the same seating arrangement as the upstairs balconies. This alcove is designed to put you in the forest while still within your room. Both upstairs and downstairs rooms have glass enclosed showers, solar heated hot water, in-room safe, hot water, coffee maker, alarm clock, ceiling fan, reading lamps, hair dryer and laundry bag. All rooms have free wireless internet. The main entry of Monteverde Lodge includes a glass cathedral entry, high wooden ceilings, an open fireplace, restaurant, bar, and 15-person hot tub. There are comfortable sofas in the bar, reading room and on the garden terrace. There is a computer room with three computers for guest use and wireless connection throughout the public areas of the hotel. The landscaping is designed to bring the flora and fauna of the cloud forest to the doorstep of the hotel. Plan on spending a morning or afternoon to wander in the 15 year old garden that includes Imperial Bromeliads, Costa Rica’s national flower the Guarianthe skinneri orchid and hedges of Blue porter weed and Lantana where butterflies feed. Location: after passing World of Insects on the left, take the right fork in the road, 500 meters to the entrance of the lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Monteverde Lodge & Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens Hotel Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve
Monteverde Lodge And Gardens
Monteverde Hotel Gardens
Gardens Hotel Monteverde
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens Costa Rica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monteverde Lodge & Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.