We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A getaway of the highest quality in an amazing cloud forest” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monteverde Lodge & Gardens

Save Saved
You added Monteverde Lodge & Gardens to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
3.5 of 5 Lodge   |   Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve 6941-1000, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“A getaway of the highest quality in an amazing cloud forest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

The last time I went to Monteverde, with a group of American tourists, to see the Cloud Forest Reserve, we had dropped their bags in the hotel, without them seeing it. After hours of following a great guide, through this enchanting forest, seeing hundreds of birds, looking for the rarest in the world, we tramped back, feet covered in mud, I reminded the group that they had hot showers to look forward to, with great food, and a very large jacuzzi, outdoors, to share! One of the party asked if there was any air-conditioning! With cool misty conditions, high in the mountains, air conditioning was the last thing we needed!

Back at the Lodge, everyone else had a fantastic experience, with a guide making a presentation, fine food, and the Lodge is perfectly run by a world-famous Tour Operator, Costa Rica Expeditions, whose founder is still called "The Godfather of Ecotourism" The staff are mainly local, well-trained, and remarkably friendly. The Lodge prides itself on being 100% sustainable.

This is about as far removed from a mass-holiday resort as it is possible to be. Do take time to visit the nearby Monteverde community - the descendants of a group of American Quakers who fled to Costa Rica to escape religious persecution in the US. The community make wooden furniture, and have a dairy farm that supplies most of the country.


This country, which is 97% Catholic, and mre religious than average, is also exceptionally educated, and amazingly laid-back and tolerant of minorities, and serves as missionary base for dozens of different faiths, who go all over the Americas.

It is best to come here in a small private group, with your own expert guide, still good to come in a slightly larger group of about 16-20 people, but I do not recommend driving up these unpaved roads on your own.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    287
    136
    32
    10
    5
See reviews for
142
238
8
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine ca
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We went to Monteverde after Nayara in Arenal. It is more rustic but wonderful. The rooms are great. Ask for the second floor so you get the view of the Volcano.
The amenities were perfect, the food fabulous and everyone on staff was helpful and friendly!
The grounds are beautiful and we had a great stay. Two days is enough because there is so much more of Costa Rica to see.

Room Tip: Second floor with view of the volcano a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiketiludrop, Guest Relations Manager at Monteverde Lodge & Gardens, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Dear EricG,

Thank you for your review of Monteverde Lodge & Gardens. I'm delighted to hear that you loved the lodge, the staff and the grounds and that you enjoyed the Balcony Rooms.

One thing that I would like to clarify is that, I think you meant to suggest that people book the Balcony Rooms in order to have a Forest View, because we don't have Volcano views from Monteverde!

We loved having you at Monteverde Lodge & Gardens, please come and see us again.

Sincerely,

Natalie Ewing
Chief Marketing & Guest Satisfaction Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

I really wish we had stayed here longer. Everything about it was fabulous. We went there based on a package through Costa Rica Expeditions, and it was great. The room was beautiful - I loved seeing the rainforest from our second story window. The service was excellent, as was the food in the restaurant. The garden was gorgeous. The front desk staff helped us chose some additional tours/activities to do, and made the reservations for us. We even saw a Blue Morpheus Butterfly in the garden. We were walking distance to the town and took advantage of the butterfly garden and the frogs. Would definitely return if we ever go back to Monteverde!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
va
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We enjoyed everything about our stay here. The staff were so welcoming and laid back. They also offerred to bring up an extra bed for our two children (so they wouldn't fight) without us asking and without any additional charge. We were greeted with delicious mint lemonade. The waiters and bartenders were so friendly and helped us practice our Spanish (thanks Juan and Jeffry). The hotel was very clean and nice. The restaurant was very pleasant with a nice view of the forest and meals presented with thought and care. We would definitely go back and recommend to others. No reservations...One caveat...getting to Monteverde the roads are treacherous. But it is worth it!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Our party of 12, consisting of 8 teens and 4 parents, had a great time. We occupied 4 ground floor rooms; all in a row, at the end of the hall (wise). All the rooms were clean and comfortable and had a picture window looking over a garden and into the forest. The food was fantastic. Breakfast was included, so we took advantage of that. We had lunches there too. Everything was delicious, and the service impeccable. I liked the way they greeted us with minty lemonade when we arrived, provided afternoon coffee and sweets, and always approached with a warm smile. The common areas pretty much comprise one not-so-big space. The restaurant/bar/check-in area feels more like a family great-room than a hotel. We met a few couples hanging out at the bar, since it seems almost impolite to not say "Hi" in such an intimate space, and had a great time chatting with them. There is a separate game room/office area. We borrowed the Backgammon set, and played by the hot tub one day. There is an evening walk that leaves directly from the front desk, and goes through a banana grove as well as some other places. As good as the restaurant is, it was nice to be able to walk into town and do some exploring. The town is pretty small, but has touristy shops, grocery stores, and plenty of restaurants. We had a wonderful dinner at the fish restaurant that is next to the pizza place. I don't know the names, but it is a small enough place that that is all the information that you really need (love that!) We also enjoyed the Taco Taco stand next to the Hostel. We did find a scorpion in the bathroom. Luckily we did not step on it, but we did capture, observe, name, and harass him before finally freeing him deep in the woods. Such is life in one of the most biologically diverse places on the planet. It is a lovely little hotel. I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

We had a great time staying in this hotel. We only stayed 1 night in a standard Forest View room. Room is on the smaller side, but very clean and comfortable. It's a very nice hotel amidst the rainforest area. Staff and service are excellent. Food at restaurant is the best we've had during our stay in Costa Rica. Loved the coffee station and the individual breakfast selections. And we enjoyed the spa with the high glass ceiling. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Location: This hotel is well-situated outside of the main town yet only within a 10-min walk. It's a low-profile, blend-in-with-nature kind of place, with impeccably kept ground and a not-to-miss nature trail right on the premise. You get the feeling that you are at a mountain lodge.

Room: Small but comfortable rooms. Our lower-priced room was downstairs and had no balcony (just a sitting area with beautiful wrap-around view of the jungle outside). We loved the large oval window above our beds. Our two double beds were comfortable and came with several pillow types. There was adequate storage for luggage and clothes. Sink space was a bit tight, but was located separately from the shower/toilet area. Shower area was large but water pressure was a bit low. There was a large safe inside the room, and hair dryer was provided. No A/C but none was needed. We have the impression that this hotel really tried to be "green", which was a big plus with us. Wi-fi was accessible from the room.

Common area: Restaurant/bar area had beautiful and expansive view of the jungle. There was a large fireplace and candles and artwork. Comfortable couches in the sitting area with fast Wi-fi. They don't have a pool but have a very large hot tub (which we didn't try).

Restaurant: Good creative food, but a bit overpriced. Breakfast was good but same everyday. For dinner (we ate dinners there twice), both the beef and fish entrees were very good. They were able to accommodate our son's food allergies. Desserts was OK but weren't as good as the entrees.

Staff: Staff was very helpful and friendly. We were glad that they helped us paid departure tax at the hotel and saved us a lot of time at the airport upon departure. They were very knowledgeable about the area and helped us choose a couple of good souvenir shops.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay at the lodge. Highly recommended but don't expect this to be a luxurious resort.

Room Tip: Room 101 was nice because it was at the end of a row of rooms. If you want a balcony to sit, you ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Monteverde Lodge & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monteverde Lodge & Gardens

Address: Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve 6941-1000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Specialty lodging in Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Monteverde Lodge & Gardens 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at 4,600 ft. above sea level on the edge of the world's best-known mid-elevation cloud forest, Monteverde Lodge is the expression of Costa Rica Expeditions' desire to create the ultimate lodging experience for the discerning nature traveler. Monteverde Lodge offers two room types: Forest View Downstairs Rooms and Upstairs Balcony Rooms. Forest View Balcony Rooms have two double beds and double doors leading out to your own private balcony, where two wicker chairs and a coffee table encourage you to sit and watch for life in the cloud forest. Forest View Downstairs Rooms also offer two double beds. These rooms have corner bay windows with the same seating arrangement as the upstairs balconies. This alcove is designed to put you in the forest while still within your room. Both upstairs and downstairs rooms have glass enclosed showers, solar heated hot water, in-room safe, hot water, coffee maker, alarm clock, ceiling fan, reading lamps, hair dryer and laundry bag. All rooms have free wireless internet. The main entry of Monteverde Lodge includes a glass cathedral entry, high wooden ceilings, an open fireplace, restaurant, bar, and 15-person hot tub. There are comfortable sofas in the bar, reading room and on the garden terrace. There is a computer room with three computers for guest use and wireless connection throughout the public areas of the hotel. The landscaping is designed to bring the flora and fauna of the cloud forest to the doorstep of the hotel. Plan on spending a morning or afternoon to wander in the 15 year old garden that includes Imperial Bromeliads, Costa Rica’s national flower the Guarianthe skinneri orchid and hedges of Blue porter weed and Lantana where butterflies feed. Location: after passing World of Insects on the left, take the right fork in the road, 500 meters to the entrance of the lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Monteverde Lodge & Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens Hotel Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve
Monteverde Lodge And Gardens
Monteverde Hotel Gardens
Gardens Hotel Monteverde
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens Costa Rica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monteverde Lodge & Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.