We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool Terrariums” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ranario

Ranario
300 mtrs oeste del Monteverde Lodge, Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Costa Rica
506-645-6318
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Twenty-six species of frogs and toads are collected in terrariums.
Miami Beach, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Cool Terrariums”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

It was great to see the specimens up close for all the local frog species. I was also impressed by their enclosure set-ups. It was a little over-priced for what it was and we didn't bother about the guided tour because it would have taken too long.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    58
    23
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Interesting frog watching by night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Boyfriend and I visited the ranario at night in early Nov 2012.

The guide was very friendly and spoke good english. The visit lasts about 45 minutes.

The ranario consists of about 20+ huge aquariums where frogs are on display. While a bit frustrating to see the frogs through thick glass, I had to say we saw many more than when visiting another ranario in a more natural setting (walk through an enclosed garden), and the information on the different frogs was good.

The ticket includes a day and night visit. We thought the $13 per person price was a bit too much, but we believe we were charged extra upfront for 'tip'. We were told regular price was $10.

The ranario was a good activity to do in the evening. We were happy with our visit and went back the next day for daylight visit. If you can only come once, pick the night time visit: frogs are more active at night.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful creatures, Very interesting tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed learning about all of the different species of frogs and were sad to hear how many are at risk. We loved the fact that you could buy the ticket and tour during the day, then come back and enjoy the sights and sounds of the nocturnal frogs in the evening. Our tour guide was very nice and very passionate about the frogs. We loved that -

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Worthwhile”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Dislike: not cheap, and frogs in terariums but...
We liked the really beautiful frogs, interesting guide and wothwhile!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escazu, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“If you like frogs, you'll love the Ranario.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

I am a big fan of frogs and this place has tons of them! I went at both day and night to get the full experience. If your schedule allows for it, you must go at night! The frogs are so much more active and it is quite an experience to see them moving about. Our tour guide was fluent in both English and Spanish and very eager to answer our questions. I plan on going back here for sure. If you are a nature person, I suggest going to the Jardin de Mariposas while you're there.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ranario also viewed

Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
 
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
 

Been to Ranario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ranario, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Ranario to your Saves list