We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting frog watching by night” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ranario

Ranario
100 Mts Oeste Del Hotel Poco a Poco, Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve 60109, Costa Rica
506-2645-6320
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Twenty-six species of frogs and toads are collected in terrariums.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Interesting frog watching by night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Boyfriend and I visited the ranario at night in early Nov 2012.

The guide was very friendly and spoke good english. The visit lasts about 45 minutes.

The ranario consists of about 20+ huge aquariums where frogs are on display. While a bit frustrating to see the frogs through thick glass, I had to say we saw many more than when visiting another ranario in a more natural setting (walk through an enclosed garden), and the information on the different frogs was good.

The ticket includes a day and night visit. We thought the $13 per person price was a bit too much, but we believe we were charged extra upfront for 'tip'. We were told regular price was $10.

The ranario was a good activity to do in the evening. We were happy with our visit and went back the next day for daylight visit. If you can only come once, pick the night time visit: frogs are more active at night.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    58
    23
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful creatures, Very interesting tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed learning about all of the different species of frogs and were sad to hear how many are at risk. We loved the fact that you could buy the ticket and tour during the day, then come back and enjoy the sights and sounds of the nocturnal frogs in the evening. Our tour guide was very nice and very passionate about the frogs. We loved that -

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Worthwhile”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Dislike: not cheap, and frogs in terariums but...
We liked the really beautiful frogs, interesting guide and wothwhile!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escazu, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“If you like frogs, you'll love the Ranario.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

I am a big fan of frogs and this place has tons of them! I went at both day and night to get the full experience. If your schedule allows for it, you must go at night! The frogs are so much more active and it is quite an experience to see them moving about. Our tour guide was fluent in both English and Spanish and very eager to answer our questions. I plan on going back here for sure. If you are a nature person, I suggest going to the Jardin de Mariposas while you're there.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best way to see lots of Costa Rica's frogs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Go at night, when the frogs are awake and calling! It's a great place to see the poison dart frogs, leaf frogs, rain frogs, and all the others you can spend hours hunting for in the forest. The dink frog, the red-eyed tree frog, stream frogs - they are all here. The only disappointing part is that often the glass fronts are a bit smeared or steamy which makes it hard to get a decent photo, or even a good look in a few cases. The guides are extremely knowledgeable and have so much information to share. The gift shop is especially good, with a terrific assortment of art and gifts and souvenirs, from clothes and jewelry to paintings and carvings.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ranario also viewed

Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
 
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
 

Been to Ranario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ranario, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.