We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Casa Cielo- Secluded Cabin-Quiet Private Paradise

Nestled in the forest, yet a minute off the main road and easy to find
Nestled in the forest, yet a minute off the main road and easy to find
Nestled in the forest, yet a minute off the main road and easy to find
Watch the miracles of light from your own balcony
Enjoy this romantic bathtub for two overlooking the mountains
A beautiful family of tucans lives right on our property
A hot, organic and home-made Costarican snack, often from our garden, awaits you upon arrival
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve
|
Rental Home – 
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
socalsurf...
Ventura, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I, 24 yo., were traveling around Costa Rica for our honeymoon, from California, and had the pleasure of staying at Casa Cielo. This place was wonderful, the house is great, clean, comfortable, could easily fit 4-6 people. Its settled on the side of the mountain with some of the most spectacular view and sunsets I have seen. The house is on a piece of property set aside as a reserve, and a hike through the property itself is awesome. Its a bit of a ways from downtown, but the taxi ride is really easy, we walked it a few times.
Veronica was unbelievably hospitable and helped us out a lot, she is very knowledgeable and will have you doing some pretty amazing things if you choose to follow her suggestions. I wouldnt hesitate to recommend this place to anyone.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
FrequentF...
Bolton, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Cute little cabin with all you could need in a beautiful private location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Casa Cielo for 6 nights in early February. Before we arrived, Veronica had been great help in advising on car hire and the right route to take to find the casa. We had hired a car and were experiencing the unpaved roads of CR for the first time, so the directions were a lifesaver.

From the minute we arrived we got a warm welcome from Stuart & Veronica including a Costa Rican snack and a guided tour around the gardens. Stuart is so knowledgable about his surroundings! Once we settled in, we were able to use the free phone in the house to call Veronica and set up excursions. We highly recommend the hot springs horseback trip, the guided tour at Curi Cancha with Grieven, the Don Juan tour and Casem for lunch.

Cabin had all the amenities you would expect when self catering, with lots of helpful notes from Veronica and a great guidebook to the house written by other guests.

It's a very cosy place with spectacular views. To spend time on the balcony in the hammock both for sunrise and sunset is very special.

The cabin is secluded, which is what we were after, but be warned it really does feel like the middle of nowhere during the night. You definitely need a good torch to walk the path from the car parking spot to the cabin.

You are around 10 minutes drive from Santa Elena where there are plenty of restaurants and cafes, but this is on gravel roads. We would definitely recommend that you hire a 4x4 for driving in the Monteverde region, we think you would struggle in a normal car. It's worth the effort though, the entire area is beautiful.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Views from balcony and seclusion
Liked least: Can be very windy at night which is very loud in the little cabin bedroom!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
yogiglo
Rehoboth, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Spectacular View, Amazing Sunsets”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

As many others have said, you can't beat this rental for the incredible view, the warm and homey feeling to the cabin and the privacy. But what makes it special is the host family. Veronica and Alex's son Stuart took us on a tour of the property upon arrival and the next day we visited the ranch and he again showed us around and pointed out the many bird species - he is an exceptional young man! During our stay my husband got a stomach virus and was quite sick for a couple of days, but once again Veronica was more than helpful, bringing chamomile tea and ginger root and offering help of any kind. She really went above and beyond what is expected of a host family and I can't thank her enough. I would highly recommend this place to anyone interested in the Monteverde / Santa Elena area.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Host family, view
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
A FlipKey verified reviewer
Chicago
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014 for a stay in June 2013
2
people found this review helpful
5 of 5 stars Value 4 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
quintraveler
NY
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Kelly and Judy
Arkansas
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Steve & Karen
FL
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$100
/
Night
Week
Month
Make Inquiry
Owner
alexander a
Speaks English
Listed since : Feb 2013
Response Rate: 100 %
Response Time: Within a day
Calendar Updated: 8 days ago
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing