We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of San Luis Waterfall

San Luis Waterfall
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Costa Rica
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Waterfalls
Attraction Details
Kansas City, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

A beautiful hike down the mountain of Monteverde! I recommend hiking down the Trocha, the view is gorgeous and the small San Luis town has a totally different ambiance from Monteverde. A beautiful day trip. It would be good to call a cab back up the mountain. The house at the entrance to the waterfall is beautiful. Alicia, who owns the plot of land through which one has to pass, was in the region before the Quakers settled in around the 1950s. It's great to support local families! Take good hiking shoes, a camera, and a jacket.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    9
    4
    2
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good hiking beautiful waterfall”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

After 45 minutes of good walking in the middle of the mountain, around the little river, with a wet tropical weather very sunny and with high humidity, but with well made trails, some kind of stairs -for an easiest access- you finally get into a beautiful waterfall, with very cold water.

After come back, there are natural drinks, fruit juice, free water, and local snacks like empanadas.

Try to get early (before 9 AM) to avoid highest temperatures, and walk at your own way.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Hidden adventure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

My partner and I had had a poor experience at one of the organised cloud forest sites, so we needed an interesting activity for the afternoon. We saw it on the map and set off on a 2+ hour walk down hill. Had no idea what to expect. It was down a long long road with amazing views of the coast. We got there and was welcomed by a lovely family. Paid them $8 (if think) and walked through their garden for another 20mins. We were the only people there and it was fan-blooming-tastic. It change my view of Monteverde 100%.
We sat in their cafe eating homemade cake and watching the local wildlife for over an hour and then got a taxi back for $20.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A 'must do' for your Monteverde activity list”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

A grueling drive, but once you're there, it's a 30-minute hike to one of the most spectacular sights in this section of Costa Rica. Go early (arrive by 9 or 9:30) and you'll most likely have the waterfall to yourself until 11 or 11:30.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Put this on your list of things to see in MonteVerde!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is a must see if you are in the area. Make sure to walk all the way to the really big falls. We took a cab from our hotel (Hotel Belmar), and the cab waited for us while we hiked it (maybe 45 minutes one way, 15 minutes swimming) - $40. Also there was a $10 per person fee to the trail. The hike was not very strenuous, but was scenic.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Luis Waterfall also viewed

Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
 
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
 

Been to San Luis Waterfall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Luis Waterfall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.