We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A small adventure” 4 of 5 stars
Review of San Luis Waterfall

San Luis Waterfall
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Costa Rica
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Waterfalls
Attraction Details
Twain Harte, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A small adventure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Well-maintained trail to waterfall. Good opportunity for wildlife watching along the trail. Recent landslide wiped out part of the trail, but the owners are quick to repair it. Swimming hole at the base of the waterfall but there was so much water coming down it seemed a bit dangerous. Probably better swimming opportunity in the dry season.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    9
    4
    2
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
La Fortuna
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great place to go by horseback!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

This is a beautiful site on the outskirts of Monteverde -- great way to go see it is by horseback. Well worth the visit. If you go by horse, you'll have to leave the horse at a certain point and then hike in about 30 minutes. Well worth it!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Wonderful little hike and beautiful waterfall”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Could not agree with NH-Couple more! In really was even better in the rain!!

We were there in mid-November and hiked during a morning of moderate-light but continuous rain but it did not detract from the experience at all, in fact once I'd given up on my rain-mac (it's still warm and I didn't like sweating underneath it) I thoroughly enjoyed getting soaked through. The trail was empty when we went (by one guided middle-aged couple [NH-Couple?!]) which made it even more special. We had been on 2-3 guided hikes already in Monteverde and Arenal so went without here, only paying the $10 park fee, which worked fine for us having driven there in our rented 4x4 (NB: do not try to drive to this trail without a 4x4, the roads are very rough and rocky and you have to ford a small stream).

The hike is not strenuous at all but very pleasant, the plank crossings are rudimentary but fun and have been wrapped in chicken-wire which delivered more than enough grip for us in our hiking boats.

Costa Rica is not suffocated by health & safety regulations, this is a wonderful relief compared to places like the UK and US - so stop complaining and enjoy it!!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
214 helpful votes 214 helpful votes
“Even better in the rain...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

After all, isn't this in the rain forest? We had the good fortune to hire a guide for the day, Andres Alvarado. Not only did he make the hike more enjoyable by teaching us about the ecology of the area, but he took photos and helped my wife through some of the rough spots. Perhaps most importantly, he plucked me from the river after I slipped on a rock and fell in! Of the two days we spent on guided hikes, this morning was a high point. The incessant rain certainly added to the experience by increasing the natural beauty of the vegetation and making one feel a part of the environment.

One negative review complained about crossing the river several times over slippery planks and over rocks. As we have said in other reviews, some reviewers should give themselves a bad review. Prior to planning this hike, it should be expected that this is a minimally developed wild area, as is most of the Monteverde region. It is not a carnival ride, thank goodness. Rocks are slippery in streams around the world, so care must be taken when crossing. Of the several areas crossed by planks, none were slippery and most had some form of handhold. Most of the planks were covered with wire mesh to improve the footing. The trail is not for everyone in that it requires some skill and some stamina. This is not a reason to give a poor review. In fact, the family who maintains this trail deserves a commendation with regard to making a minimal impact on the environment.

A big surprise awaited us back at the trail head. We were served most wonderful Tico food and hot Tico coffee, all at a very reasonable price. (As I write this, my mouth waters!) In all, we had a very memorable experience.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I was told this is the second highest waterfall in Costa Rica. A fairly easy hike but kids need guidance. some areas could be dangerous for kids. The family that owns the land has done a lot of work to maintain and keep it safe. The admission fee is well deserved. If you find my sunglasses take to the woman at the start lol.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Luis Waterfall also viewed

Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
 
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
 

Been to San Luis Waterfall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Luis Waterfall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.