We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to go by horseback!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of San Luis Waterfall

San Luis Waterfall
Monteverde, Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Costa Rica
Website
Improve this listing
Attraction details
La Fortuna
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great place to go by horseback!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

This is a beautiful site on the outskirts of Monteverde -- great way to go see it is by horseback. Well worth the visit. If you go by horse, you'll have to leave the horse at a certain point and then hike in about 30 minutes. Well worth it!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    12
    4
    3
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Wonderful little hike and beautiful waterfall”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Could not agree with NH-Couple more! In really was even better in the rain!!

We were there in mid-November and hiked during a morning of moderate-light but continuous rain but it did not detract from the experience at all, in fact once I'd given up on my rain-mac (it's still warm and I didn't like sweating underneath it) I thoroughly enjoyed getting soaked through. The trail was empty when we went (by one guided middle-aged couple [NH-Couple?!]) which made it even more special. We had been on 2-3 guided hikes already in Monteverde and Arenal so went without here, only paying the $10 park fee, which worked fine for us having driven there in our rented 4x4 (NB: do not try to drive to this trail without a 4x4, the roads are very rough and rocky and you have to ford a small stream).

The hike is not strenuous at all but very pleasant, the plank crossings are rudimentary but fun and have been wrapped in chicken-wire which delivered more than enough grip for us in our hiking boats.

Costa Rica is not suffocated by health & safety regulations, this is a wonderful relief compared to places like the UK and US - so stop complaining and enjoy it!!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I was told this is the second highest waterfall in Costa Rica. A fairly easy hike but kids need guidance. some areas could be dangerous for kids. The family that owns the land has done a lot of work to maintain and keep it safe. The admission fee is well deserved. If you find my sunglasses take to the woman at the start lol.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Wonderful!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

A fantastic walk (45minutes) in the forest leads to a very big waterfall, very cold but seriously breath taking ! We enjoyed walking in this place, this is very beautiful!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The closest thing to paradise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

The hike to the waterfall was spectacular and very comfortable. I have many great photos to help remember this enchanting place, along with a great video of my daughter swimming and squealing with glee in the pond at the waterfall.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Luis Waterfall also viewed

Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
 
Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
 

Been to San Luis Waterfall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Luis Waterfall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.