We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of San Luis Waterfall

San Luis Waterfall
Monteverde, Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Costa Rica
Website
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Wonderful!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

A fantastic walk (45minutes) in the forest leads to a very big waterfall, very cold but seriously breath taking ! We enjoyed walking in this place, this is very beautiful!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    10
    5
    2
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The closest thing to paradise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

The hike to the waterfall was spectacular and very comfortable. I have many great photos to help remember this enchanting place, along with a great video of my daughter swimming and squealing with glee in the pond at the waterfall.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Worth the Hike, but you'd better be fit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Super hike up the mountain, crossing a stream back and forth on boards (there is a rope head height to steady yourself with) until you reach the pool at the base of a 200 foot double-drop waterfall. If the day is warm, the cold water is most refreshing, but if you go on a cool day, you will need to be brave to enter the water!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“stunning! Just do it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

The hike to get there is like an indian jones adventure...lots of river crossing on logs. Highly worth it! My daughter swam under the waterfall.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Tough Hike”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We made it to mile marker 10. We only had three left to go, but i the boards used to cross the river made us turn back. It would have been a six foot fall into the river. It was such a swift river too. I couldn't risk it with my 6 and 8 year olds. There were no other tourists when we went there. If the kids had fallen in there would have been no way to get them help. I wish the couple that took our $10 each for the hike had spoken a little English. Maybe they could have warned us. The hike leading up to mile marker 10 was strenuous, but doable. After mile marker 10 there were big boulders and then the river crossing. We were very disappointed to not have seen the falls. We did frolic in the stream a bit. The water was cold and nice.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Luis Waterfall also viewed

Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
 
Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
Santa Elena, Monteverde
 

Been to San Luis Waterfall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Luis Waterfall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.