We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casa Batsu is a Treasure!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Batsu

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Casa Batsu to your Saves list
Casa Batsu
Los LLanos, Monteverde | Next to Monteverde Welcome Center, Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
La Crosse
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Casa Batsu is a Treasure!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights at Casa Batsu and enjoyed every minute of our stay. Carlos is a phenominal host and will book any trip/transportation for you with ease. He prepares delicious 3-4 course meals and drinks. The mango crepes were to die for! The dinner was incredible! We especially enjoyed our tour of their property. We saw an emerald toucan and a woodpecker! Carlos arranged a tour of the rainforest with Marcos Mendez, who was an excellent guide! His enthusiasm was contagious. We asked for a fan and we slept like babies and heard nothing, except the fan. Our friends were in the other room, so we had the whole place to ourselves! There was always coffee and tea available. Only $2 for a cab into town. Morphos is a great restaurant for lunch or dinner. We wish we could've spent a few more nights at Casa Batsu and hope to visit Carlos again!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    13
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
64
122
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Stayed here in March. Family run B&B. Service is impeccable. Carlos and Paola are remarkable hosts. He is very proud of Monteverde. This is apparent as he talks about the area and what it has to offer. He's also a great chef. Had the best meals at his place. Taste was comparable to a high end restaurant. On our first day we went to a local coffee shop and he secretly bought my friend's coffee. He even drove us to the farmer's market. Breakfast was so generous. Always started with a large glass of fresh squeezed fruit juice. We didn't even bother trying the other restaurants. I had some communication issues initially regarding my reservation but regardless, this experience far exceeded our expectations.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United states
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Arrived at our fantastic bed and breakfast, casa batsu, at 12 am (midnight). We were greeted by name at the taxi by the bed and breakfast owner, Carlos. He showed us to our gorgeous room that ended up being 2 bedrooms and a beautiful bathroom with a shower that Isaac and I want to pack up and take home with us. We booked the bed and breakfast online, but hadn't paid yet. I thought Carlos would be in a rush to take our money, but he showed us around a little and offered some assistance in getting our day tomorrow planned and set up. We had nothing set up and only knew we wanted an English tour of the cloud forest in the morning and were thinking about a nighttour. He said that he would make a few calls in the morning to find out where the most recent animal sightings have been and to see if he could get us into a tour group. When morning came we were pleasantly surprised with an authentic and very delicious 3 course breakfast, which was included in the very reasonable price to stay at this establishment. Carlos said that one of the best tour guides, Raphael, said he could take us on a private tour today. The whole thing, including transportation to and from our hotel, admission to the reserve, and a 4 hour private tour would be $45 per person (about the same price to have taken a taxi ourselves and went with a group of 8 people. He also gave us some pamphlets on other tours we could do today. He highly suggested the original canopy zip line tour, so we asked him to arrange that for us as we'll as a night walking tour. We were picked up a few minutes later and taken to the Monteverde cloud forest reserve where we met Raphael. Raphael was amazing. Very knowledgable, funny, and he made the 4 hour hike a lot of fun.
Carlos made our short time in monteverde very wonderful as he made all the reservations and transportation, and we didn't have to do anything but enjoy ourselves. It was also nice that we didn't have to carry money around, as at all tours we just told them (if they didn't already know) that Carlos booked the tour for us. The people responded that we just pay Carlos. At the end of our reservation we paid Carlos for everything in one large payment; but everything was very reasonably priced and I felt very confident that Carlos would t screw us over on prices.
It was a small bed and breakfast with only a few rooms for guests, but that made it even more special. I felt like we were Carlos’ number one priority the entire time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed two nights with Carlos in Monteverde on our honeymoon. Carlos is an absolutely wonderful host and a very helpful guide to the area. He and his wife live at the house/farm and Carlos runs the Vistor's center in front of the property. He helped us chose and book our tours/adventures in Monteverde and had great recommendations. He also makes a beautiful breakfast, that is as pretty as it is enjoyable.

The B&B is on a magical peice of land just before you get to the little town of Santa Elena. They are on farm land with a garden, horses, kittens, walking trails, etc. Santa Elena is a great little town with a grocery store and lots of places to eat. Mostly full of tourists and places to book adventure tours. If you want to be able to walk to the town, this probably isn't the best option. It's a bit of a walk on an unpaved road, but an easy 3 minute drive or quick cab ride.

The room was very beautifully and thoughtfully made up and had a nice bathroom and shower. The bed was okay, but definitely not like our matresses in the U.S. The rooms are not far from the main road, but the road noise was not too bad. The biggest issue was that the walls between the two rooms are like paper. We could hear every word and every noise from the other couple staying there. It was pretty much like being in the same room with them. Thankfully, the couple was very friendly and their conversations were not a bother, but if you are looking for real privacy, it would be difficult to have here when there are other visitors.

Overall, we would definitely stay here again, and we would recommend Carlos's service and breakfast to everyone!

Room Tip: There are only two rooms and they are about the same. They are right next door to each other and rig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronkonkoma, NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

This is a family run B&B, just outside Santa Elena. Owned and operated by Carlos and Paula, and we were lucky to have found them!
Carlos, who also manages the Monteverde Welcome Center next door, was a fountain of information and had answers to all our questions. Plus he was playing a great selection of songs on the patio!
Paula recently hand painted the glass panels on the entry wall to and gave it a nice tropical feel. Our room was a kitchen and two bedrooms, one with a bathroom. Nice, Paula's strategically placed flowers looked good and smelled nice. The breakfasts she served us were delicious, fresca fruta, and the rancho huevos on the wavy plates were both beautiful to look at, as well as to eat!
Carlos is working on a design to make the walls more soundproof, right now, they're a bit thin. A bit less noise from your neighbor will be good.
Outside is very nice too. They have a organic garden behind the house, west of the mango tree. Then you continue on the Sunset Trail thru an open field for a view of the land. You can rent horses here also, from a relative of theirs.
All in all, great place to stay, great people!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed 2 nights & the service from Carlos beforehand and during was excellent. We received written confirmation of our booking and Carlos followed this up with a telephone call to us before we left the Uk to check up on our requirements for dinner & the booking of a night walk.
When we arrived, Carlos served us chilled wine & took us through their grounds to a lovely seating area to watch the sunset.
The following evening, after our night walk, he served us a superb seafood dinner cooked by himself & his wife - this including wine was $30 and was probably the best meal we had the entire holiday.
We stayed in the Colibri Room, which had 2 bedrooms, one bathroom & a kitchen / seating area. The bathroom was very small but very clean as were the bedrooms.
The drive up to Monteverde was on some of the worst roads I've ever driven on & it took us 90 minutes to complete the last 20km. We had booked the Skytours full package of walk, hanging bridges, sky tram & zip line and completed this shortly after arriving in Monteverde - this was great.
Ate the first evening at the Bon Appetite restaurant which was OK & really just what we needed - not feeling too hungry and slept well.
The next morning we spent 4 hours walking the Cloud Forest & saw many animals & birds and spent the afternoon relaxing in the Casa Batsu garden.
Really enjoyed our stay - thank you Carlos & your lovely family

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

It has been one year since our stay at Casa Batsu and I am finally writing a review for our favorite accommodations in Costa Rica! Sorry to be so very late, Carlos and Paula...my tardiness does not mean we have forgotten you!

My daughter and I spent 4 nights at Casa Batsu and loved it! Carlos is an unusually gracious host. He is also extremely knowledgeable about the area (and Costa Rica in general), loves to share what he knows, and he is fun! He was super helpful arranging explorations for us. Paula kept the home fires burning and served us delicious breakfasts and was available for whatever we needed. The rooms and the setting are lovely and just a few minutes drive form downtown Monteverde. We had a fabulous time! And we will be back! Thank you Carlos and Paula for being such gracious hosts! ~ Faith & Aubrey

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Batsu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Batsu

Address: Los LLanos, Monteverde | Next to Monteverde Welcome Center, Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Batsú is just more than a hotel ... is our home and we invite you to share the peace, location and hospitality of a true Costa Rican Family House. Our goal is to make you feel at home. We have spacious, beautiful, clean and well equipped rooms for a comfortable stay, a large tropical garden is the perfect place to relax after hiking in the woods, the kids really enjoy playing in the hammocks, or jumping around in the garden. Casa Batsu is the main house in a beautiful family farm over 200 acres, recently remodeled and equipped to welcome travelers who enjoy authentic experiences and quality, In Casa Batsu you will not feel like a tourist. We invite you to join us during your next visit to the Monteverde Cloud Forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Casa Batsu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Batsu Monteverde, Costa Rica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Batsu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.