We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Batsu

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Batsu
Save
You added Casa Batsu to your Saves list
606 Los Llanos, Monteverde | 1 KM Southeast From Super Compro on the Way to San Jose, Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve 60101, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Casa Batsu with our 2 small children for 3 nights. The 'room' consisted of 2 bedrooms and a kitchenette area. Everything was spotlessly clean and the beds were very comfortable. The bathroom was not perfect (erratic hot water in the shower), but it did not matter. Carlos, who runs the B&B, is a gem. He took plenty of time to tell us about the area, the local fauna and history of Costa Rica. We had dinner at the B&B once, which was wonderful and highly recommended. Carlos and his wife Paula are talented cooks. All the breakfasts were very special- huge portions of delicious food. Carlos has a wealth of knowledge and contacts and even helped us find a very good guide in Manuel Antonio.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sawadessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed here for one night during our coast to coast tour of Costa Rica - AMAZING!!!! We got lost looking for Casa Batsu, and when we called Carlos, he told us to stay put. He was coming to us. We were not sure what to think...was Casa Batsu really that hard to find..? In about 10 mins Carlos showed up and introduced himself and told us to follow him, he wanted to show us something. He proceeded to take us on a mini tour of Monteverde stopping at a few of his favourite places! Wow - this was unexpected and certainly a surprise. Casa Batsu was not hard to find, Carlos had just wanted to show us around! We loved it.

Carlos then arranged for us to partake in a night hike which was kind of cool. I thought we would have seen more creatures of the night, but was a great experience none the less.

In the morning Carlos and Paula made us the BEST BREAKFAST I HAVE EVER TASTED. I know that I will not be able to recreate it. They have a flair for food and my mouth is watering right now. Breakfast was 3 courses, first fresh fruit, second tortillas with eggs, salsa, avocado and jalapenos, third came a fruit pancake with a passionfruit reduction sauce. BAM! Emeril would proud!

Carlos then arranged for us to zipline at Sky tours. I have ziplined before in Panama, but this was entirely different - VERY high and VERY fast. Total adrenaline.

We stayed in the Colibri room with friends - this was a great room for us, the only thing I would change is that there should be access to the bathroom from both bedrooms. The bathroom had one door which you had to walk through one of the bedrooms to access. This was the only improvement we could suggest.

Carlos also gave us a tour of his property and showed us all the plants he uses for his fresh ingredients when cooking. Carlos and Paula are fantastic and you will have to stay here to realize just how great!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CDickert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

When my husband and I arrived to Monteverde earlier than expected, we we warmly greeted by Carlos. When I asked him if we were too early to check in, he replied that every time is a good time to arrive. That put us immediately at ease. Carlos was quick to give us lots of information about town. We were the first tenants to check in, and it felt like we had the resort to ourselves. We stayed in the Mariposa Casa, and it was so lovely and clean! The bathroom shower is a work of art. Even with tenants next door, it felt like we had the place to ourselves. We enjoyed a nice, long happy hour on the patio, and Carlos joined us in fantastic conversation. He made a fabulous recommendation for dinner at Tremonte and even made a last minute reservation for us. In the morning, Carlos and his sweet family were up, and coffee was brewing. I enjoyed a quiet cup of coffee on the patio, and we had a tasty and huge breakfast made for us- we didn't want to leave! We had inquired about laundry services, and were pleased that we got some clean laundry right before we departed. Carlos and his family are sweet and will do whatever it takes to make your stay special. We highly recommend everyone to stay here- it is a gem! Thank you from Marshall and Andrea!

Room Tip: The Mariposa has a fabulous shower and porch!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AndreaMarsCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan, Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

My wife and I loved our recent visit to this small guest house. It more than deserves all the praise the other reviews have given it, being clean, comfortable and set in a delightful, informal garden. Carlos helped us arrange what we wanted to do, and was super with suggestions.
Incidentally, if Carlos offers to make supper for you, jump at the chance. He is a gifted chef who uses fresh produce with imagination and joy.
The two or three rooms are not well sound proofed from one another: well, I had to come up with something negative...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shueyville
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We recently spent three wonderful nights at Casa Batsu, and there is nothing we can add that hasn't already been said about Carlos and Paula's genuinely warm and friendly hospitality, the spotless, beautiful rooms, sumptuous breakfasts, the personal attention, and the many little perks and valuable local information that you most likely won't get at any other accommodations in Monteverde. This is a very special, serene place where we were treated like part of the family and made some wonderful new friends. Many thanks and pura vida, Carlos and Paula!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gringo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vällingby, Stockholms Län, Sweden
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We have been travelling to many many places over the years in different parts of the world and have stayed at a good number of B&B....But Carlos' and Paula have done something very unique setting up the best B&B we've ever stayed at. The hospitality, the friendliness, the passion, the absolutely fantastic breakfast, the surroundings, the charm of the rooms. We highly recommend this to anyone going to Monteverdi and lookings for something speiclal to remember forever and pass on recommendations.

Family from Sweden

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anki59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

It's easy to say that this is definitely one of the most fantastic B&Bs we have ever visited!! Carlos is incredibly hospitable. He is passionate about his work and the Monteverde region.

We stayed in the Mariposa Room which is clean, spacious and comfortable. There are two double beds which make it more than accommodating for a family. The most interest aspect of this room is the bathroom. Carlos designed this room with his wife and it really reflects the environment (definitely take a look at the bathroom pictures online).

The grounds are gorgeous!! Carlos encourages his guests to explore his property and enjoy the mountain views.

Breakfast was sooooo good!! Each morning there was a special available (his Mother's Christmas enchiladas, breakfast burrito), along with many regular breakfast items like French toast and yogurt.

If you are interested in going on a jungle night walk or exploring the wilderness with a guide definitely request Freddy, who is a good friend of Carlos. Freddy is a very knowledgeable guide whose passion shines as you explore with him :)

This is a very special place and I would 100% recommend staying here when visiting Costa Rica!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hawaiihula2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve
1.1 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
#1 of 1 in Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 730 reviews
0.7 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 22 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 stars 736 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#2 of 22 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 stars 944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#4 of 22 in Monteverde
4.0 of 5 stars 64 reviews
0.8 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#5 of 22 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 stars 55 reviews
1.6 mi away
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Batsu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Batsu

Address: 606 Los Llanos, Monteverde | 1 KM Southeast From Super Compro on the Way to San Jose, Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve 60101, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Batsú is just more than a hotel ... is our home and we invite you to share the peace, location and hospitality of a true Costa Rican Family House. Our goal is to make you feel at home. We have spacious, beautiful, clean and well equipped rooms for a comfortable stay, a large tropical garden is the perfect place to relax after hiking in the woods, the kids really enjoy playing in the hammocks, or jumping around in the garden. Casa Batsu is the main house in a beautiful family farm over 200 acres, recently remodeled and equipped to welcome travelers who enjoy authentic experiences and quality, In Casa Batsu you will not feel like a tourist. We invite you to join us during your next visit to the Monteverde Cloud Forest. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Batsu Monteverde, Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing